Dialogue Lectures

Duchamp and the Women
– Five Dialogue Lectures

In a five-part series of digital Dialogue Lectures, the 31: Women exhibition’s curator, Dr. Renate Wiehager, and Dr. Katharina Neuburger discuss the connection between the exhibition 31: Women and the research project Duchamp and the Women| Duchamp as Curator. Published in 2020, the Daimler Art Collection’s book Duchamp and the Women uses essays and biographical portraits to present the works and artistic significance of numerous outstanding women who were influential in cultural events from early modernism to the 1960s. At the same time, important initiatives and collaborations are discussed, primarily in France and the USA, which accompanied and influenced Marcel Duchamp’s work and artistic projects.

Part 1

The structure of the publication “Duchamp and the women” and a tour of the exhibition “31: Women”

Part 1 of the dialogue lectures discusses the structure of the book Duchamp and the Women and shows a tour of the exhibition 31: Women.

Part 2

Women around the young Duchamp: Gabrielle Buffet-Picabia, Suzanne Duchamp, Gertrude Stein

Part 2 of the five-part series of dialogue lectures dives into the structure of the publication Duchamp and the Women. Renate Wiehager and Katharina Neuburger discuss how the relationship of Duchamp’s work to the “friendships, collaborations, and networks” with women from the cultural and artistic circles of his time can be read anew today. They take a closer look at this question by portraying three key protagonists: Suzanne Duchamp, Gabrielle Buffet-Picabia and Gertrude Stein.

Part 3

Duchamp’s Network in New York around 1915: Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven, Beatrice Wood, Mina Loy, Louise Arensberg

In Part 3 of the Dialogue Lecture series, Renate Wiehager and Katharina Neuburger talk about Duchamp’s time in New York between 1915 and 1920, covering in particular the famous scandal around the Readymade Fountain (1917), a urinal turned upside down and placed on a pedestal, as well as the significance of important female writers and early collectors of Duchamp’s work. Among others, Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven, Beatrice Wood, Mina Loy, and Louise Arensberg are featured.

Part 4

The Institutionalization of Duchamp’s Oeuvre: Katherine S. Dreier; Carrie, Florine and Ettie Stettheimer; Rrose Sélavy

Focusing on a network of women actors active in New York, Chicago, and Paris during the 1920s and 1930s, the conversation turns to aspects of Marcel Duchamp’s editorial and curatorial practice. Central to this is the founding of the exhibition institution Société Anonyme with Katherine S. Dreier and Duchamp’s involvement with female curators and literary figures in connection with his work for Constantin Brâncuși. Specific, work-immanent aspects are explored in relation to the Stettheimer sisters, via whom Duchamp’s interest in miniatures and the fluidity of gender roles is revealed.

Part 5

Duchamp, Surrealism, his late work: Mary Reynolds, Peggy Guggenheim, Maria Martins, Alexina “Teeny” Duchamp

In Part 5, the last of the Dialogue Lectures, Renate Wiehager and Katharina Neuburger discuss the protagonists of the Surrealist movement in Paris and New York, the importance of the American metropolis during World War II, and Marcel Duchamp’s late sculptural work. Of particular significance are Mary Reynolds, Peggy Guggenheim, and Maria Martins. As with the publication Duchamp and the Women, the series of talks ends with a tribute to Duchamp’s wife, Alexina “Teeny” Duchamp.

close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Dialogue Lectures

Duchamp und die Frauen – Dialog Vorträge

Die Kuratorin der Ausstellung, Dr. Renate Wiehager und Dr. Katharina Neuburger, diskutieren in einer fünfteilige Reihe digitaler Dialog Vorträge die Verbindung zwischen der Ausstellung ›31: Women‹ und dem Forschungsprojekt Duchamp und die Frauen| Duchamp als Kurator. Das 2020 publizierte Buch der Daimler Art Collection, Duchamp und die Frauen, stellt anhand von Essays und biografischen Porträts Werke und Wirken von zahlreichen herausragenden Frauen vor, die für das kulturelle Geschehen von der frühen Moderne bis in die 1960er-Jahre prägend waren. Und das immer mit Blick auf die künstlerische Bedeutung dieser Frauen. Zugleich werden wesentliche Initiativen und Kooperationen diskutiert, vornehmlich in Frankreich und den USA, die das Werk sowie künstlerische Projekte von Marcel Duchamp begleitet und beeinflusst haben.

Teil 1

Die Struktur des Buches Duchamp und die Frauen und Rundgang durch die Ausstellung ›31: Women‹

Teil 1 diskutiert die Struktur des Buches Duchamp und die Frauen und stellt in einem Rundgang die Ausstellung 31: Women vor.

Teil 2  

Frauen im Umfeld des jungen Duchamp: Gabrielle Buffet-Picabia, Suzanne Duchamp, Gertrude Stein

Teil 2 der fünfteiligen Reihe an Dialog Vorträgen taucht ein in die Struktur der Publikation Duchamp und die Frauen. Die beiden Gesprächspartnerinnen diskutieren, wie das Verhältnis von Duchamps Werk bezogen auf „Freundschaften, Kooperationen und Netzwerke“ mit Frauen der Kunst und Kultur seiner Zeit heute neu gelesen werden kann. Dieser Frage spüren sie anhand von drei wichtigen Protagonistinnen nach: Suzanne Duchamp, Gabrielle Buffet-Picabia und Gertrude Stein.

Teil 3

Duchamps Netzwerk in New York um 1915: Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven, Beatrice Wood, Mina Loy, Louise Arensberg

In Teil 3 der Dialog Vorträge sprechen Renate Wiehager und Katharina Neuburger über Duchamps Zeit in New York zwischen 1915 und 1920, insbesondere auch über den berühmten Skandal des Readymades Fountain (1917) – ein umgedrehtes und auf einem Sockel platziertes Urinoir – sowie über die Bedeutung wichtiger Literatinnen und erster Sammlerinnen für Duchamps Werk. Vorgestellt werden u.a.: Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven, Beatrice Wood, Mina Loy und Louise Arensberg.

Teil 4

Die Institutionalisierung von Duchamps Œuvre: Katherine S. Dreier, Carrie, Florine und Ettie Stettheimer, Rrose Sélavy

Mit Blick auf ein Netzwerk von Akteurinnen zwischen New York, Chicago und Paris in den 1920er und 1930er-Jahren diskutieren die Gesprächsparterinnen Aspekte der editorischen und kuratorischen Praxis Marcel Duchamps. Zentral dabei ist die Gründung der Ausstellungsinstitution Société Anonyme mit Katherine S. Dreier und die Arbeit mit Kuratorinnen und Literatinnen im Zusammenhang mit Duchamps Arbeit für Constantin Brâncuși. Werkimmanente Aspekte werden mit den Stettheimer Schwestern untersucht: mit ihnen erschließt sich Duchamps Interesse an Miniaturen und an dem Spiel mit Genderidentität.

Teil 5

Duchamp. Surrealismus, das Spätwerk: Mary Reynolds, Peggy Guggenheim, Maria Martins und Alexina „Teeny“ Duchamp

In Teil 5 und somit im letzten Teil der Dialog Vorträge sprechen Renate Wiehager und Katharina Neuburger über die Akteurinnen der Surrealismus-Bewegung in Paris und New York, über die Bedeutung der amerikanischen Metropole während des Zweiten Weltkrieges sowie über das bildhauerische Spätwerk Marcel Duchamps. Von besonderer Bedeutung sind dabei: Mary Reynolds, Peggy Guggenheim und Maria Martins. Die Gesprächsreihe endet – wie auch schon die Publikation Duchamp und die Frauen – mit einer Hommage an Duchamps Ehefrau Alexina „Teeny“ Duchamp.

schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".