Artwork

Ding Yi
Geometric Grid, 2011

Since the mid-1980s, Ding Yi’s work provides a significant contribution to the reformulation of an independent abstract painting in China. Geometric Grid, 2011, alternates between text and drawing, with Ding Yi using a text and format that references China’s ancient writing tradition. The picture’s extremely long, narrow format references the Chinese tradition of scroll pictures, whilst the technique of painting in ink on rice paper references Chinese calligraphy. The gestural, delicate, almost ornamental language of shapes used for the cross motif has associations with handwriting techniques. The title of the artwork, rendered in calligraphy, is situated within a vertical field that marks the termination of the right hand side of the picture. Ding Yi’s artworks grow, as it were, out of a time-consuming by-hand process, which allows the cross shape to emerge as a visually and graphically variable raw material. Each of his pictures is a fragmentary extract of a grid network that extends beyond the edges of the picture: an idealized, imagined hyperstructure, which offer a time-suspended, ideology-free space for the communication between artist/author and viewer/reader.

Related artworks



China 35 Artworks

Yin Xiuzhen
One Sentence – No. 53, 2011
Second hand clothes, stainless steel
Qiu Zhijie
Calligraphy of Written Backward: Sand of Silk-washing Stream by Su Shi, 2008
Ink on paper, video
Guan Xiao
Sunset, 2012
LED light box, artificial flower, colored metal, rims, resin

Drawing 32 Artworks

Robert Longo
Untitled (black car), 1996
Graphite on paper mounted on masonite

Language 23 Artworks

Iman Issa
Material for a sculpture commemorating the life of a soldier who died defending his nation against intruding enemies, 2012
Four painted wooden sculptures on white plinth, blank book with four inserts, vinyl text on wall
Yin Xiuzhen
One Sentence – No. 53, 2011
Second hand clothes, stainless steel
Iman Issa
Prayer (Study for 2014), 2014
Metal sculpture with LED light, text panel under glass
close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Werk

Ding Yi
Geometric Grid, 2011

Das Werk von Ding Yi hat seit Mitte der 1980er Jahre wesentlichen Anteil an der Neuformulierung einer eigenständigen abstrakten Malerei in China. Geometric Grid, 2011, changiert zwischen Schrift und Zeichnung, indem Ding Yi durch Technik und Format auf die alte Schrifttradition Chinas verweist. Das extrem lange, schmale Format verweist auf die chinesische Tradition der Rollbilder auf, die Technik der Tuschezeichnung auf Reispapier nimmt Bezug auf die chinesische Kalligrafie. Die gestische, filigrane, nahezu ornamentale Formensprache der Kreuzmotive assoziiert  handschriftliche Techniken. In einem vertikalen Feld, das den rechten Bildrand der Zeichnung abschließt, findet sich der als Kalligraphie umgesetzte Titel der Arbeit. Ding Yis Bilder wachsen gleichsam aus einem langwierigen handwerklichen Prozess heraus, der das Kreuz als ein visuell und graphisch vielfältig variierbares Material erscheinen lässt. Jedes seiner Bilder ist fragmentarischer Ausschnitt eines über die Bildränder hinaus ausgreifenden Gitternetzes als ideale, imaginierte Hyperstruktur, welche der Kommunikation zwischen Künstler/Autor und Betrachter/Leser einen zeitenthobenen, ideologiefreien Raum anbietet.

Verwandte Werke



China 38 Werke

Li Ran
Mont St. Victoire, 2012
HD Video (Farbe/Ton), 35:35 min, 240 Dias (35 mm), 3 Diaprojektoren
Liu Zheng
The Chinese, 1994
30 Archiv Inkjet-Drucke

Sprache 23 Werke

Sarah Browne
From Margin to Margin (Looking for Eileen), 2010
Künstlerbuch, limitierte Edition
Iman Issa
Material for a sculpture commemorating the life of a soldier who died defending his nation against intruding enemies, 2012
Vier bemalte Holzskulpturen auf weißem Sockel, ein leeres Buch mit vier Einsätzen, ein Vinyl-Text auf der Wand
Yin Xiuzhen
One Sentence – No. 78, 2011
Gebrauchte Kleidungsstücke, Edelstahl

Zeichnung 33 Werke

Michael Sayles
Nommo (African Reliquary Replicate #2), 2012
Grafit auf Papier und Metallknopf
schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".