Mercedes-Benz Art Scope 2015-2017: Wandering to Wonder

A Cooperation between Mercedes-Benz Japan
and the Daimler Art Collection, Stuttgart/Berlin

May 27th — August 27th 2017

Hara Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo
4-7-25 Kitashinagawa, Shinagawa-ku, Tokyo 140-0001

The artist-in-residence program “Mercedes-Benz Art Scope” was founded in 1991 by Mercedes-Benz Japan as an artistic exchange program between young artists from Japan and Germany. Since 2003, the Hara Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo has facilitated and presented the results in cooperation with Mercedes-Benz Japan and the Daimler Art Collection, Stuttgart/Berlin. Each exchange pursues a specific theme through which independent artistic positions can unfold: conceptually with regard to the individual experience of cultural, urban, and landscape impressions, as well as with the handling of material and media. The program allows participating artists to consider new topics, techniques, and materials. Their artistic results present viewers with the opportunity to encounter current contemporary works, which refer to individual as well as to global aspects. The current exhibition presents the “Mercedes Benz Art Scope 2015-2017” and shows the German artist Menja Stevenson (*1982 in Rottweil, D) together with the two Japanese artists Taro Izumi (*1976 in Nara, JP) and Tokihiro Sato (*1957 in Yamagata, JP). The title of the show “Wandering to Wonder” reflects the cultural exchange through the play of words by emphasizing connection of bodily activity (as wandering) and spiritual impressions (as wondering). Subsequently in 2018, the Daimler Art Collection, Stuttgart/Berlin will present the artists that participated in the exchanges between 2011 and 2017 at Daimler Contemporary Berlin.

Participating artists
Taro Izumi (JP), Tokihiro Sato (JP), Menja Stevenson (D)

Downloads

Publications

Exhibitions

close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Mercedes-Benz Art Scope 2015-2017: Wandering to Wonder.

Eine Kooperation zwischen Mercedes-Benz Japan
und der Daimler Art Collection, Stuttgart/Berlin

27. Mai — 27. August 2017

Hara Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo
4-7-25 Kitashinagawa, Shinagawa-ku, Tokyo 140-0001

Das Artist-in-Residence Programm ›Mercedes-Benz Art Scope‹ wurde 1991 von Mercedes-Benz Japan als künstlerisches Austauschprogramm zwischen jungen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus Japan und Deutschland gegründet. Seit 2003 präsentiert und vermittelt das Hara Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo die Ergebnisse in Zusammenarbeit mit Mercedes-Benz Japan und der Daimler Art Collection, Stuttgart/Berlin. Jeder Austausch verfolgt ein spezifisches Thema, innerhalb dessen sich die eigenständigen künstlerischen Positionen entfalten können; sowohl konzeptionell – hinsichtlich der individuellen Erfahrung kultureller, urbaner und landschaftlicher Eindrücke – als auch im Umgang mit Material und Medien. Das Programm ermöglicht teilnehmenden Künstlerinnen und Künstlern die Auseinandersetzung mit qualitativ neuen Themen, Techniken und Materialien. Die Betrachterinnen und Betrachter haben die Möglichkeit, sich mit aktuellen zeitgenössischen Werken auseinanderzusetzen, die auf individuelle wie auch auf globale Aspekte referieren. Die aktuelle Ausstellung präsentiert den ›Mercedes Benz Art Scope 2015-2017‹ und stellt die deutsche Künstlerin Menja Stevenson (*1982 in Rottweil, D) und die japanischen Künstler Taro Izumi (*1976 in Nara, JP) und Tokihiro Sato (*1957 in Yamagata, JP) vor. Der Titel der Schau ›Wandering to Wonder‹ reflektiert den kulturellen Austausch, indem sich körperliche Aktivität (wandering [spazieren, umherirren]) und geistige Eindrücke (to wonder [sich wundern, sich fragen]) zu einem Wortspiel verbinden. Anschließend wird die Daimler Art Collection, Stuttgart/Berlin 2018 die Künstler der drei Austauschphasen 2011 bis 2017 im Daimler Contemporary Berlin präsentieren.

Teilnehmende Künstlerinnen und Künstler
Taro Izumi (JP), Tokihiro Sato (JP), Menja Stevenson (D)

 

 

Downloads

Publikationen

Ausstellungen

schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".