Vis-à-Vis with Adolf Fleischmann: Hartmut Böhm and Andreas Schmid

Two installations by Hartmut Böhm and Andreas Schmid from the Daimler Art Collection in the context of the Adolf Fleischmann retrospective

April 30th — November 6th 2016
Daimler Contemporary Berlin

The Daimler Contemporary is simultaneously holding exhibitions by two artists who both have biographical roots in Esslingen in Baden-Württemberg, and are also known for artworks produced in the USA: Adolf Fleischmann and Dieter Blum. The Fleischmann Retrospective furthermore continues the >Classical : Modern< exhibition series, through which South German artists from the Daimler Art Collection since 2001 have been discussed in a broader, European art context.
For our Adolf Fleischmann (1892 – 1968) exhibition – the first Berlin retrospective of his work – we will be exhibiting around sixty paintings, collages and gouaches. The central focus is on his significant late work from his New York period. Dieter Blum (*1936, now living in Düsseldorf) was invited to a shoot for Marlboro in the USA in 1992. This resulted in a series comprising around sixty photos, only fragments of which have previously been exhibited; it was on the basis of this series of pictures that Blum became the most widely and internationally known photographer in this field.
In the context of the Adolf Fleischmann retrospective, we will also be presenting commissioned artworks, created for the Daimler Art Collection by Hartmut Böhm and Andreas Schmid.

Andreas Schmid, Lichtungen (Clearings), 2009

We will be exhibiting Andreas Schmid’s light stelae installation in dialogue with Fleischmann’s artworks: the vibration of the colors in Fleischmann’s artworks finds an answering echo in the spatial-temporal movement of the colored lights in Schmid’s artwork. The artworks by Andreas Schmid are informed both by their locations and by the passage of time. The temporary spaces he creates allow their visitors’ external perception to segue into proprioception as they move through the rooms, discovering their transitory nature. Entering into a dialog with the positions taken by painters in the 1960s, Schmid modifies architectural, transitional rooms to become slowly changing drawings of light in space. A computer program modulates the coloring and intensity of the columns of light in a gentle rhythm. The drawings of light that Andreas Schmid creates in space thus open up another, separate space in which a patient observer will be able to observe the slow pulse of change – a space for visual exploration and Meditation.

Hartmut Böhm, or-or, 2016

Hartmut Böhm, who was born in Kassel in 1938, has been creating artworks at the interfaces between Concrete Art, minimal art and conceptual art for five decades now. Many of his sculptures and objects are characterized by the terms ‘seriality’, ‘relief’ and ‘progression’, which connects him with the oeuvre of Adolf Fleischmann. These are sculptural-aesthetic concepts whose differentiated scale systems oppose the disorder of the world, confronting it with an ethos in which the will is directed towards the disciplined finding of form, in a manner that is both intellectual and in harmony with the working materials. Hartmut Böhm first conceived the idea for his new group of artworks – the table piece group – in 2013. These are arrangements of found objects from the studio – drawing apparatus, working materials, working tools, adhesive tape rolls, index card boxes, invitation cards, and brochures – on simple tables, arrangements in which the individual object becomes part of a formally developed vocabulary, a visually composed Arrangement.
The artwork commissioned by the Daimler Art Collection, or-or, 2016, is a continuation of this series, and can be seen as a visual essay on the subject of his artistic oeuvre. Passing along this seven-meter-long display, the viewer passes through the vocabulary of Hartmut Böhm’s intellectual landscape. This artwork, which contains a wide range of material from the realms of typographical objects, of artists’ materials, and of selected objects from the studio, can be read in a number of different ways. The artist himself has offered the following terms for the consideration of anyone attempting to read the piece: matrix and metaphor, emptiness and volume, overlayering and penetration, system and syntax, form and structure.

Request Press Images

Artists

  • Hartmut Böhm
  • Andreas Schmid

Events

  • Saturday June 11th 2016
    -
    Guided Tour: On the Musicality of the Linear
    This tour will examine the question of how light, color, and geometric patterns are used to give rhythm to and to dynamize abstract/linear space/image creations.
    The tour will be held in German language.
  • Saturday July 2nd 2016
    -
    Guided Tour: Seriality, Relief and Structure – Modulations as Visual Vocabulary
    This tour is a quest for the recurring motif elements and ‘spiritual landscapes’ of the exhibited artists and their artworks.
    The tour will be held in German language.
  • Thursday July 7th 2016
    -
    New Daimler Art Collection Commissioned Artworks – Renate Wiehager in Dialog with Hartmut Böhm and Andreas Schmid
    As a key part of the collection’s concept, the Daimler Art Collection regularly commissions artworks from selected artists.

    Last year, in a continuation of his new “table piece” artwork group, Hartmut Böhm began to create the seven-meter-long spatial sculpture “or-or” (2016), which is composed of seven table elements. The seemingly severely formal arrangement of found objects from his studio and from art history reflects diverse developments in Böhm’s work since 1960, side-by-side with developments in art over the same period. What are the dialogic relationships between the objects, and how do they retrospectively reflect the genesis of the artist’s work and of his understanding of art? What are the roles played by serial formation, proportion, deconstruction, and scale? And, finally, what place does this artwork group occupy in the oeuvre of Hartmut Böhm?

    Andreas Schmid’s light stelae installation “Lichtungen-Berlin [Clearings-Berlin]” reflects the artist’s temporary and situation-based working methods. In line with this, he has entirely rethought and adapted the artwork acquired in 2009, based on a commission from the Daimler Art Collection, for the current exhibition “Adolf Fleischmann Retrospective” at the Daimler Contemporary. With the aid of a programmed computer control system, the artist composes a variety of sequences and intensities for the twenty-one colored fluorescent tubes. The resulting slowly-changing space-light figure creates an architectonic transitional area and dialogue space with Fleischmann’s abstract paintings, and accentuates Fleischmann’s key painterly goal: to achieve vibration and intimacy of color. What is the aesthetic concept behind the artwork? What is the relationship between the light sequences and the exterior and interior perception?

    Both talks will be held in German language.
  • Saturday July 23rd 2016
    -
    Guided Tour: Dialogue Interactions
    During this tour, the positions of different artists will be compared, in a dialogue process: revealing not only their unique qualities, but also their parallels and affinities in addressing artistic issues. Andreas Schmid’s light stelae installation, for instance, is shown in dialogue with Adolf Fleischmann’s work: the vibrations of color in Fleischmann’s work echo the spatial and temporal movements of colored light in Schmid’s work.
    The tour will be held in German language.
  • Saturday September 3rd 2016
    -
    Guided Tour: Wild Energies – Rhythmizing & Dynamizing Picture Spaces
    It is no accident that Adolf Fleischmann uses the words ‘fugue’ and ‘opus’ in the titles of his pictorial compositions – his visual music scores produce a complex, rhythmically crafted pictorial space with vibrating color effects. Vertical lines that appear to float, following their own rhythm, are a significant factor in the theme of color extended into space. Dieter Blum similarly succeeds in creating pulsing movement factors in the medium of photography – spectacular ‘speed ornaments’, the rapid movements of beast and rider. Lassos whirling through the air create dancing momentary visual lines and optical blurs – taking the visible to the point of dissolution.
    The tour will be held in German language.
  • Saturday September 10th 2016
    -
    Children's workshop
    Our 2-hour workshop is designed for primary school children aged between 6 and 10 years. At Daimler Contemporary we will carry out experiments with colors and techniques, linked to the current exhibitions ‘Adolf Fleischmann. Retrospective’, ‘Dieter Blum. Cowboys’ and ‘Vis-á-Vis with Adolf Fleischmann: Hartmut Böhm and Andreas Schmid’. We will learn how art can be created by light. And we will realize abstract paintings and collages whereby we explore the tension between art and advertising.
    Please register via mail to art.collection@daimler.com. Admission is free. The number of participants is approximately 10 children. The event will be held in German language.
  • Saturday September 24th 2016
    -
    Guided Tour: Concept and Line
    This tour focuses on the intersections of concrete art, minimal art and concept art in the oeuvre of the contemporary artists Hartmut Böhm and Andreas Schmid, asking to what extent a relationship exists between these artworks and the abstract tendencies in the late work of Adolf Fleischmann, created in America.
    The tour will be held in German language.
  • Saturday October 15th 2016
    -
    Guided Tour: Art-Historical Contextualizings – of Inspirations and Emulators
    Artists use the history of art like a toolbox, referencing existing artworks or incorporating traditional forms into their own work as a way of transforming and incorporating standard cultural elements. This tour focuses on this artistic practice, attempting to trace wide-ranging reciprocal relationships with inspirations and templates. For instance, the American photographer Richard Prince draws on resources from the past in his image-stealing rephotographings of Dieter Blum’s cowboy motifs, and Andreas Schmid’s space-light drawing quotes painterly trends from the 1960s.
    The tour will be held in German language.

Publications

Exhibitions

close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Vis-à-Vis mit Adolf Fleischmann: Hartmut Böhm und Andreas Schmid

Zwei Installationen von Hartmut Böhm und Andreas Schmid aus der Daimler Art Collection im Kontext der Retrospektive Adolf Fleischmann

30. April — 6. November 2016
Daimler Contemporary Berlin

Mit Adolf Fleischmann und Dieter Blum werden zwei Künstler im Daimler Contemporary parallel präsentiert, die ihre biographischen Wurzeln im Baden-Württembergischen Esslingen haben und u.a. über ihr in den USA entstandenes Werk bekannt wurden. Die Retrospektive zum Werk von Adolf Fleischmann führt darüber hinaus die 2001 begonnene Ausstellungsreihe >Classical : Modern< fort, in welcher kontinuierlich mit Süddeutschland verbundene Künstler/innen aus der Daimler Art Collection in einem weiteren, europäischen Kontext vorgestellt worden sind.
Von Adolf Fleischmann (1892 – 1968) zeigen wir in einer ersten Berliner Retrospektive rund sechzig Gemälde, Collagen und Gouachen, im Zentrum steht das bedeutende Spätwerk der New Yorker Zeit. Dieter Blum (*1936, lebt in Düsseldorf) war 1992 zu einem Shooting für Marlboro in die USA eingeladen. Die entstandene, bisher nur ausschnitthaft gezeigte und rund sechzig Fotos umfassende Serie war die Basis dafür, dass Blum zum international bekanntesten Fotografen in diesem Umfeld wurde.
Im Kontext der Adolf Fleischmann Retrospektive stellen wir weiterhin neue Auftragsarbeiten vor für die Daimler Art Collection von Hartmut Böhm und Andreas Schmid.

Andreas Schmid, Lichtungen (Clearings), 2009

Andreas Schmids Licht-Stelen-Installation zeigen wir im Dialog mit Fleischmann: der Vibration der Farbe bei Fleischmann antworten räumlich-zeitliche Bewegungen farbigen Lichts bei Schmid. Andreas Schmid geht als Künstler situativ und temporär vor. Er bearbeitet vorhandene Räume als Orte des Übergangs zwischen Außen- und Innenwahrnehmung, die sich mit der Bewegung des Betrachters im Raum entfalten. Andreas Schmid verwandelt in einem Dialog mit malerischen Positionen der 1960er einen architektonischen Übergangsbereich in eine langsam sich verändernde Raum-Licht-Zeichnung. Mittels Computersteuerung werden Verlauf und Intensität der farbigen Lichtstelen in sachtem Wechsel moduliert. Andreas Schmids Lichtzeichnungen im Raum bilden somit selbst Raum: einen Modulationsraum für den geduldigen Blick. Nicht mit den Füßen, nur mit den Augen zu betreten.

Hartmut Böhm, or-or, 2016

Hartmut Böhm, 1938 in Kassel geboren, arbeitet seit fünf Jahrzehnten an den Schnittstellen von Konkreter Kunst, Minimal Art und Konzeptkunst. Die Begriffe Serialität, Relief, Struktur, Progression sind kennzeichnend für zahlreiche seiner Skulpturen und Objekte und verbinden ihn mit dem Werk von Adolf Fleischmann. In seinem Werk geht es um skulptural-ästhetische Konzepte, deren differenzierte Maßverhältnisse der Unordnung der Welt das Ethos eines geistigen und werkstoffgerechten Willens zu disziplinierter Formfindung entgegenhalten.
Seit 2013 hat Hartmut Böhm die neue Werkgruppe der Tischstücke konzipiert. Fundstücke des Ateliers – Zeichengerät, Werkstoffe, Werkzeuge, Kleberollen, Karteikästen, Einladungskarten, Broschüren – werden auf schlichten Tischen so angeordnet, dass das einzelne Objekt Teil eines streng formal ausgearbeiteten Vokabulars, einer visuell komponierten Anordnung wird. Im Auftrag der Daimler Art Collection hat Hartmut Böhm auf diesem Prinzip die Raumskulptur or-or geschaffen, die sich als visueller Essay über sein künstlerisches Oeuvre lesen lässt. Das sieben Meter lange Display abschreitend, legt der Betrachter einen Weg durch das Vokabular der geistigen Landschaft Hartmut Böhms zurück. Die materielle Vielfalt aus den Bereichen von typografischen Objekten, Künstlermaterialien und ausgewählten Gegenständen des Ateliers bietet zahlreiche Lesarten. Für die Lektüre benennt der Künstler selbst die folgenden Begriffe: Matrix und Metapher, Leere und Volumen, Überlagerung und Durchdringung, System und Syntax, Form und Struktur.

Anfrage Pressefotos

Künstler

Termine

  • Samstag 11. Juni 2016
    -
    Führung durch die Ausstellung: Zur Musikalität des Linearen
    Im Rahmen dieser Führung wird der Frage nachgespürt, wie durch den Einsatz von Licht, Farbe und geometrischen Mustern abstrakt-lineare Raum-Bild-Findungen eine Rhythmisierung und Dynamisierung erfahren.
  • Samstag 2. Juli 2016
    -
    Führung durch die Ausstellung: Serialität, Relief und Struktur – Modulationen als visuelles Vokabular
    Der Rundgang begibt sich auf die Suche nach wiederkehrenden motivischen Einheiten und ›geistigen Landschaften‹ der ausgestellten Künstler und ihrer Werke.
  • Donnerstag 7. Juli 2016
    -
    Neue Auftragsarbeiten der Daimler Art Collection – Renate Wiehager im Gespräch mit Hartmut Böhm und Andreas Schmid
    Als Teil der Sammlungskonzeption vergibt die Daimler Art Collection regelmäßig Auftragsarbeiten an ausgewählte Künstler.

    Als Fortführung seiner neuen Werkgruppe der "Tischstücke" hat Hartmut Böhm im letzten Jahr die sieben Meter lange Raumskulptur „or-or“, 2016 aus sieben Tischelementen entwickelt. Das scheinbar streng formal ausgearbeitete Arrangement von Fundstücken aus dem Kontext seines Ateliers und der Kunstgeschichte spiegelt die vielfältigen Entwicklungen seines Werkes seit 1960 wider sowie das Kunstgeschehen dieser Zeit. Wie sind die Gegenstände dialogisch zueinander in Beziehung gesetzt und wie reflektieren diese retrospektiv die Werkgenese des Künstlers und seine Kunstauffassung? Welche Rolle spielen serielle Formation, Proportion, Dekonstruktion und Maßstab? Und schlussendlich, wie gliedert sich die Werkgruppe in das Gesamtkunstwerk Hartmut Böhms ein?

    Andreas Schmids Licht-Stelen-Installation „Lichtungen-Berlin [Clearings-Berlin]“ spiegelt die temporäre und situativ vorgehende Arbeitsweise des Künstlers wider. So hat er die 2009 erworbene Arbeit im Auftrag der Daimler Art Collection für die aktuelle Ausstellung „Adolf Fleischmann. Retrospektive“ im Daimler Contemporary völlig neu durchdacht und verortet.
    Mit Hilfe einer programmierten Computersteuerung komponiert der Künstler unterschiedliche Sequenzen und Intensitäten der farbigen einundzwanzig Leuchtstoffröhren. Die daraus entstehende, sich langsam verändernde Raum-Licht-Zeichnung schafft so einen architektonischen Übergangsbereich und Dialograum mit den abstrakten Malereien Fleischmanns und akzentuiert sein malerisches Streben: Die Vibration und Intimität der Farbe. Wie ist die Arbeit ästhetisch konzipiert? In welchem Bezug stehen die Licht-Sequenzen und die Außen- und Innenwahrnehmung zueinander?
  • Samstag 23. Juli 2016
    -
    Führung durch die Ausstellung: Dialogische Wechselspiele
    In dialogischer Gegenüberstellung sollen während der Führung Künstlerpositionen verglichen und nicht nur ihre Eigenheiten, sondern auch Parallelen und Verwandtschaften in den künstlerischen Fragestellungen herausgearbeitet werden. Die Licht-Stelen-Installation von Andreas Schmid wird beispielsweise im Dialog mit Adolf Fleischmann gezeigt: Der Vibration der Farbe bei Fleischmann antworten räumlich-zeitliche Bewegungen farbigen Lichts bei Schmid.
  • Samstag 3. September 2016
    -
    Führung durch die Ausstellung: Wilde Energien – Rhythmisierung & Dynamisierung der Bildräume
    Nicht zufällig betitelt Adolf Fleischmann seine Bildkompositionen mit Fuge oder Opus – seine visuellen Partituren fügen sich zu einem komplexen, rhythmisch gestalteten Bildraum mit vibrierenden Farbeffekten. Das Ausgreifen der Farbe in den Raum wird nicht zuletzt von gleichsam schwebenden, eigenen Rhythmen folgenden Farbvertikalen thematisiert. Vergleichbar gelingen Dieter Blum im Medium der Fotografie gelingen pulsierende Bewegungsmomente – spektakuläre ›Geschwindigkeits-Ornamente‹ rasender Bewegung von Tier und Reiter. Durch die Luft wirbelnde Lassos erzeugen tänzerische Augenblickslinien und optische Unschärfen – treiben das Sichtbare in die Auflösung.
  • Samstag 10. September 2016
    -
    Kinderworkshop
    Unser 2-stündiger Workshop richtet sich an Kinder im Grundschulalter zwischen 6 und 10 Jahren. Im Kontext der parallel laufenden Ausstellungen ›Adolf Fleischmann. Retrospektive‹, ›Dieter Blum. Cowboys‹ und ›Vis-á-Vis mit Adolf Fleischmann: Hartmut Böhm und Andreas Schmid‹ werden wir gemeinsam im Daimler Contemporary Material-, Farb- und Wahrnehmungsexperimente durchführen. Wir erfahren, wie Kunst durch Licht entsteht, malen abstrakte Bilder und erforschen das Spannungsfeld von Kunst und Werbung, indem wir Collagen anfertigen.
    Um Anmeldung bitten wir bis 10 Tage vor dem Termin unter art.collection@daimler.com. Die Zahl der Teilnehmenden beträgt ca. 10 Kinder. Die Veranstaltung ist kostenfrei und findet am 10. September, von 15–17 Uhr statt. Bitte alte Kleidung anziehen!
  • Samstag 24. September 2016
    -
    Führung durch die Ausstellung: Konzept und Linie
    Die Führung fokussiert die Schnittstellen von Konkreter Kunst, Minimal Art und Konzeptkunst im Oeuvre der zeitgenössischen Künstler Hartmut Böhm und Andreas Schmid und fragt, inwiefern deren Werke auch in Bezug gesetzt werden können zu abstrakten Tendenzen im US-amerikanischen Spätwerk Adolf Fleischmanns.
  • Samstag 15. Oktober 2016
    -
    Führung durch die Ausstellung: Kunsthistorische Kontextualisierungen – von Vor- und Nachbildern
    Künstler nutzen die Kunstgeschichte wie einen Werkzeugkasten und rekurrieren auf bereits existierende Werke oder inkorporieren tradierte Formen in ihre eigene Arbeit, um so kulturelle Standards zu transformieren und zu interpretieren. Die Führung legt ihren Fokus auf diese künstlerische Praxis und versucht weitläufige Wechselbezüge zu jeweiligen Vorlagen und Vorbildern nachzuzeichnen. So bediente sich beispielsweise der US-amerikanische Fotograf Richard Prince für seine bildräuberischen Re-Fotografien der Cowboy-Motive von Dieter Blum oder Andreas Schmid setzt sich mit seiner Raum-Licht-Zeichnung mit malerischen Positionen der 1960er Jahre auseinander.

Publikationen

Ausstellungen

schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".