Publication on the Symposium “Duchamp as Curator”

Duchamp as Curator
Marcel Duchamp’s Curatorial Practice: His Work, Contemporary Exhibitions, Museums, Private Collections and Publications

A Publication on the Symposium Presented by the Daimler Art Collection, April 25/26, 2017 Renate Wiehager (ed.) and Katharina Neuburger

The first substantial publication on the topic. Eight essays by well-known authors, analyzing Duchamp’s numerous curatorial gestures as well as introductions to two important German Duchamp research institutions. [380 pages, Hardcover, 15 x 23 cm, germ./engl., with numerous colored illustrations]

Marcel Duchamp made exhibition practice one of the most important parts of his work. Curatorial gestures and concepts, which determined the staging of his works and allowed him to move away from canonical definitions of the artist; publications of photographic documentations of his New York studio; themes, contributions and layouts for art magazines; activity as a consultant, juror and staging curator for exhibitions in the contexts of American modernism, Dada and Surrealism; the exertion of a powerful influence on important private collections of his time – Duchamp exhausted all conceivable aspects of exhibiting and collecting. While deliberately distancing himself from given structures of artistic work, he approached a concept of curatorial practice as an aesthetic medium that is today well established. According to the pointed thesis of the symposium and the publication here, he was one of the first ‘artist curators’ and, thus, decisively influenced the reception of his own work as well as the art historical development of exhibition practice. Duchamp gave the multiple possibilities for perception and open perspectives of interpretation of his oeuvre, via the staging, reproduction and multiplication of his own and others’ works, a new conceptual direction, one which defined a turn in contemporary art. Principles of exhibition practice became decisive factors in the constitution of a work.

This publication features essays of following authors:

Akiko Bernhöft
“Time and Again Duchamp Knocks at the Door:” The Dynamics of the Reception of Duchamp by John Cage and Michael Asher in the 1960s and 1970s

Eva Fabbris
“The First Time an Artist Subsumed an Entire Gallery in a Single Gesture:” Brian O’Doherty Interprets Marcel Duchamp and His Surrealist Shows

Elena Filipovic
A Museum That Is Not

Gerhard Graulich und Kornelia Röder
On the History of the Duchamp Research Center, Schwerin

Susanne M. I. Kaufmann
The Marcel Duchamp Collection and the Serge Stauffer Archive at the Staatsgalerie Stuttgart

Eva Kraus
André Breton, Marcel Duchamp and Frederick Kiesler in Curatorial Correlation: The Surrealist Exhibition of 1947

Katharina Neuburger
Marcel Duchamp and the Société Anonyme

Gesine Tosin
»Dearest Richard …« Richard Hamilton and Marcel Duchamp

Renate Wiehager
Duchamp as Curator and Author for the Société Anonyme, 1920 to 1950 Autobiography and Art Theory in nuce

Renate Wiehager
Draft chronology of the Exhibitions and Collections Curated by Marcel Duchamp

Sandro Zanetti
The Art of Indifference: Duchamp’s staging of language and writing

 

 

 

 

close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Publikation zum Symposium „Duchamp als Kurator“

Duchamp als Kurator
Marcel Duchamps kuratorische Praxis: sein Werk, zeitgenössische Ausstellungen, Museen, private Sammlungen und Publikationen

Die Publikation zum Symposium der Daimler Art Collection, 25./26. April 2017.
Herausgegeben von: Renate Wiehager mit Katharina Neuburger

Erste substanzielle Publikation zum Thema. Acht Essays ausgewiesener Autorinnen und Autoren analysieren den Werkstatus der vielfältigen kuratorischen Gesten Duchamps und zwei renommierte Duchamp-Rechercheinstitutionen stellen sich vor. [380 S., Hardcover, 15 x 23 cm, dt./engl., mit zahlreichen farbigen Abbildungen]

Marcel Duchamp hat die Ausstellungspraxis zu einem wichtigen Bestandteil seines Werkes gemacht. Kuratorische Gesten und Konzepte, welche die Inszenierung seiner Arbeiten bestimmten und ihm erlaubten, sich von kanonischen Festlegungen des Künstlertypus zu entfernen; fotografische Dokumentationen und Veröffentlichungen seiner New Yorker Ateliers; Themen, Beiträge und Layoutentwürfe für Kunstmagazine; seine Tätigkeit als Berater, Juror und inszenierender Kurator für Ausstellungen im Kontext des amerikanischen Modernismus, Dada und des Surrealismus; der eminente Einfluss auf wichtige Privatsammlungen seiner Zeit – alle denkbaren Aspekte des Kuratierens, Ausstellens und Sammelns haben im Werk von Duchamp eine qualitativ neue künstlerische Dimension gewonnen. Parallel zu Duchamps dezidierter Distanzierung von gegebenen Strukturen künstlerischen Arbeitens näherte er sich so einer heute durchaus gängigen Vorstellung der kuratorischen Praxis als ästhetisches Medium. Er war, so die zugespitzte These des Symposiums und der hier vorliegenden Publikation, einer der ersten ›Künstler-Kuratoren‹ und hat damit die Rezeption seines eigenen Werkes und die kunsthistorischen Entwicklungen der Ausstellungspraxis entscheidend beeinflusst. Den mehrdeutigen Wahrnehmungsweisen und offenen Deutungsperspektiven seines eigenen Werkes hat Duchamp durch Inszenierung, Reproduktion und Multiplikation seiner und der Arbeit anderer eine neue konzeptuelle Richtung gegeben, mit der sich eine Wende für die zeitgenössische Kunst bestimmen lässt. Prinzipien der Ausstellungspraxis wurden nun zu entscheidenden Faktoren der Werkkonstitution.

Folgende Autorinnen und Autoren sind mit Essays in dieser Publikation vertreten:

Akiko Bernhöf
»Und immer wieder klopft Duchamp an der Tür« – Dynamiken der Duchamp-Rezeption in den 1960er und 1970er-Jahren bei John Cage und Michael Asher

Eva Fabbris
»Zum ersten Mal subsummierte ein Künstler einen ganzen Galerie-Raum in unter einer Geste.« Brian O’Doherty interpretiert Marcel Duchamp und seine surrealistischen Ausstellungen

Elena Filipovic
A Museum That Is Not

Gerhard Graulich und Kornelia Röder
Zur Geschichte des Duchamp-Forschungszentrums Schwerin

Susanne M. I. Kaufmann
Der Marcel-Duchamp-Bestand und das Archiv Serge Stauffer in der Staatsgalerie Stuttgart

Eva Kraus
André Breton, Marcel Duchamp und Friedrich Kiesler in kuratorischer Korrelation: Die Ausstellung der Surrealisten von 1947

 Katharina Neuburger
Marcel Duchamp und die Société Anonyme

 Gesine Tosin
»Dearest Richard …« Richard Hamilton und Marcel Duchamp

Renate Wiehager
Duchamp als Kurator und Autor für die Société Anonyme 1920 bis 1950. Autobiografie und Kunsttheorie in nuce.

Renate Wiehager
Entwurf einer Chronologie der von Marcel Duchamp kuratierten Ausstellungen und Sammlungen

Sandro Zanetti
Kunst der Indifferenz. Duchamps Sprach- und Schriftinszenierungen

schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".