On Curbstone Jewels and Cobblestones

Second part of an exhibition series with new acquisitions of contemporary Chinese and international art

November 7th 2015 — April 10th 2016
Daimler Contemporary Berlin
Related events

Since 2013, the Daimler Art Collection has strengthened its international profile by adding to it a significant new aspect of global contemporary art – through the acquisition of more than 40 artworks by approximately 20 Chinese artists. In the course of 2015 and 2016 these newly acquired artworks will be shown in a number of exhibitions held in Berlin and Stuttgart.

The Chinese artworks relate to a number of areas of special interest of the Daimler Art Collection, among others especially in terms of abstract and conceptual art tendencies as well as in new media forms. At the same time, these artworks represent an entirely new and distinctive complex within the collection – both culturally and aesthetically. The selected acquisitions of the Daimler Art Collection are centered around artists from the key regions of Beijing, Shanghai and Hong Kong. A forward-looking acquisition policy was developed that focuses mainly on the youngest generation of artists (those born circa 1980). Additionally, thanks to our collaborations with some major galleries, we were able to acquire significant artworks by artists who have already achieved an international reputation, plus a number of historically significant works. Taken together, these acquisitions provide an insight into a nation that is the subject of fascinating and heated discussion, and a nation that will be of critical and global importance in the 21st century – not only because of its thousands of years of tradition, but also because of its rapid economic and cultural development.

At first the new Chinese acquisitions will be presented in an exhibition series at Daimler Contemporary in Berlin. Both shows will showcase the Chinese artists’ work in the context of the Daimler Art Collection. The exhibition will juxtapose and put the Chinese artists in dialogues with international artists, the show will expand through time and different cultures, and it aims to bring out peculiarities and parallels in the diverse artistic strategies. The first part of the exhibition From a Poem to the Sunset is devoted to conceptual approaches concerned both with the significance of artistic traditions and with the collision of divergent cultural, media and material worlds. Whereas the first part of the exhibition consists primarily of installations, conceptual artworks and videos, sculptural works and photography will be in the foreground of the second part of the exhibition On Curbstone Jewels and Cobblestones. This exhibition with artworks by fifteen artists from seven nations outlines aspects of human living together in densely populated urban areas, and in the rapidly growing great cities of China in particular. As fictions, but also as concrete experiments in influencing the society of which they are a product, these artworks discuss the social and political consequences of urbanization. Once more, these works also remind us, just how much views of China have shifted over the past two decades.

Curated by Renate Wiehager and Christian Ganzenberg
Curatorial advisor: Andreas Schmid

Downloads

Artists

Events

  • Saturday November 21st 2015
    -
    Guided Tour - Miniature Worlds. Explorations of Urbanization, Modernization, and Mobilization
    With portable miniature towns in suitcase format (Yin Xiuzhen), miniature model railway worlds (Cao Fei), and colorful paper houses (Are You Meaning Company), artists examine the relationship between individual life and urbanization, modernization, and mobilization. More broadly speaking, in addition to addressing interpersonal relationships, these miniature worlds highlight questions regarding the construction of history and memory (Cao Fei, Yin Xiuzhen), or invite observers to reflect on the ways in which people live in standardized one-bedroom apartments and modular houses (Are You Meaning Company).
    The tour will be held in German language.
  • Saturday December 12th 2015
    -
    Guided Tour - On Role Models and Reproductions. Transformations of Art and Film History
    Many artists utilize art and film history as a toolkit, drawing on pre-existing artworks or incorporating traditional forms into their own work. In so doing, they hope to transform and interpret cultural standards. This guided tour will focus on this artistic practice, and endeavors to trace extensive interactions with the respective originals and artistic role models. Alicja Kwade’s video work Kreisel (Inception), for example, is a deeper exploration of the last shot from Christopher Nolan’s blockbuster ‘Inception’; Cao Fei’s work uses entire passages of slightly modified text from the film script ‘Hiroshima mon amour’ by Alain Resnais and Marguerite Duras.
    The tour will be held in German language.
  • Saturday January 2nd 2016
    -
    Guided Tour - Beyond Perceptual Realism. Artistic Positions between Fact and Fiction
    Oscillating between fiction and documentation, what is dream state and what is reality remains indeterminate in many of the exhibited works. Rather, the transitions between ‘dreaming’ and ‘waking’ states of consciousness are fluid; different levels of reality cannot be separated out. In Alicja Kwade’s and Wu Hao’s artworks, artistic/aesthetic processes are used to dispossess everyday objects of their usual functionality. Zheng Guogu’s photographic work is characterized by a blurred, flickering dividing line between documentation and fiction, which overlap. The plastic toys (Cao Fei) and the model towns made from material and foam rubber (Yin Xiuzhen) are also directed against perceptual realism, transporting the depicted object into the realm of the imaginary.
    The tour will be held in German language.
  • Saturday January 16th 2016
    -
    Children’s workshop
    Using the artworks from the current exhibition as an inspirational starting point, we will carry out visual experiments together in the Daimler Contemporary, working with old materials, embellishing found objects, and exploring hidden connections in miniature artworks.
    We are offering a 2-hour workshop for schoolchildren aged between 6 and 12. About 10 children may participate in each workshop. This event is free of charge, and will be held in German language. Children should wear old clothes! Please register at least one week before the respective workshop takes place at art.collection@daimler.com
  • Saturday January 23rd 2016
    -
    Guided Tour - Referencing Reality through Photography. Photography in Contemporary Art
    ‘On Curbstone Jewels and Cobblestones’ unites various media forms of expression in an exchange and dialogue. As a part of this, photographic works, owing to their precarious status as a ‘reference point to reality,’ provide one area of focus for the exhibition. Staged, conceptual, and abstract shots are on display, alongside re-enactments, images of the everyday, and photographic artwork series. They open up a variety of possible ways of seeing, not only in relation to the methods, potentialities, and limitations of the medium of photography itself, but also in relation to the immediate environment of the people and places depicted. Contrary to the view of photography as an instrument which ‘portrays reality,’ the exhibited photographs show constructed images, and individual critical statements.
    The tour will be held in German language.
  • Saturday February 13th 2016
    -
    Guided Tour - Artistic Analyses of Modern Labor and Living Conditions Labor and Living
    Rapidly changing contemporary living conditions and communal living styles – the corollaries of urbanization and globalization – form the central theme of the second part of the exhibition series on Chinese and international contemporary art. What are the consequences of urbanization in terms of society and individual identity, with regard to the current demographic and economic situation in China and elsewhere? In this context, what role do the traditional and the new concepts and values play? What is the role of local and international methods of production, of individualized and collective ways of life, of the disparities in development between urban and rural areas? And finally: how do contemporary artists reflect these existential changes?
  • Saturday March 5th 2016
    -
    Guided Tour - Material and Idea. The Question of the Concept in the Mediums of Photography and Sculpture
    Both the photographs and the sculptural pieces showcased in the exhibition are generally based on a conceptual thought, combined with a choice of material. This concept may take the form of a structural, thematic, or formal ‘planning’ decision by the artist, strictly applied. This applies especially to series (Cao Fei, Liu Zheng) and to ‘docufiction’ (Zheng Guogu), but also to precisely ‘composed’ scenes (Chen Chieh-Jen). In these, the conceptual approach is both visible and comprehensible, and also a constitutive part of the artwork. Furthermore, it is almost impossible to comprehend numerous sculptures in the exhibition in terms of classical aesthetic modes of description and valuation: instead, they unfold against a backdrop of extensive research on and references to architectural modernism in Brazil. They may, for instance, use diverse natural materials (Leonor Antunes), or be created through a process which involves numerous participants. The latter is the case for the dried-out paint residues in glass painting vessels, and the rolling gates taken from an everyday context in China, which have been repeatedly written upon and overwritten (Wu Hao).
    The tour wll be held in German language.
  • Saturday March 26th 2016
    -
    Guided Tour - Transformed realities
    In the midst of transformation processes, many artists also become chroniclers of social transformation and rapidly accelerating changes that are pandemic in Chinese metro areas. Yin Xiuzhens’ series One Sentence compress vestiges of lived daily culture into patched up personal stories. In the photographic works of Cao Fei and Zheng Guogu, the exploration of the living world of women factory workers or a mentally disabled homeless person become a critical instrument that allows the artists to expose glimpses of political, historical and human realities.
    The tour will be held in German language.

Publications

Exhibitions

close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

On Curbstone Jewels and Cobblestones

Zweiter Teil einer Ausstellungsreihe mit Neuerwerbungen chinesischer und internationaler Kunst

7. November 2015 — 10. April 2016
Daimler Contemporary Berlin
Online Dokumentation

Seit 2013 hat die Daimler Art Collection ihr internationales Profil mit dem Erwerb von mehr als 40 Werken von etwa 20 chinesischen Künstlern um einen wesentlichen Aspekt internationaler Gegenwartskunst erweitern können. Diese Neuerwerbungen werden 2015 und 2016 in verschiedenen Ausstellungen in Berlin und Stuttgart der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt.

Die Werke der chinesischen KünstlerInnen können an die Schwerpunkte der Daimler Art Collection in den Bereichen abstrakter und konzeptueller Tendenzen, sowie im Bereich der neuen Medien anknüpfen. Zugleich stellen sie einen ganz neuen und eigenen – kulturellen wie ästhetischen – Komplex innerhalb des Sammlungsgefüges dar. Bei der Auswahl der Künstlerpositionen hat sich die Daimler Art Collection auf jüngere Künstler aus den Zentren Beijing, Shanghai und Hong Kong fokussiert. Dafür wurde eine in die Zukunft weisende Ankaufstrategie entwickelt, die vor allem auf das Umfeld der jüngsten Künstlergeneration (geboren um 1980) ausgerichtet ist. Darüber hinaus konnten durch die Zusammenarbeit mit wichtigen Galerien des Landes Hauptwerke von international bereits bekannten KünstlerInnen als auch einige historisch bedeutende Arbeiten erworben werden. In Summe geben diese Akquisitionen einen Einblick in ein – faszinierendes wie kontroverse Diskussionen auslösendes – Land, das nicht nur aufgrund jahrtausendalter Traditionen, sondern vor allem wegen der rasanten wirtschaftlichen wie kulturellen Entwicklung von entscheidender, globaler Bedeutung im 21. Jahrhundert sein wird.

Die mehrteilige Ausstellungsreihe im Daimler Contemporary Berlin wird die Neuerwerbungen der chinesischen KünstlerInnen im Sammlungskontext der Daimler Art Collection präsentieren: Durch eine Zeiten überschreitende und Kulturen verschränkende, dialogische Gegenüberstellung mit internationalen Künstlerpositionen sollen Eigenheiten und Parallelen in den künstlerischen Strategien herausgearbeitet werden. Der erste Teil der Ausstellung From a Poem to the Sunset widmet sich konzeptuellen Ansätzen, die sich einerseits mit der Bedeutung von künstlerischen Traditionen als auch mit dem Aufeinandertreffen divergenter kultureller, medialer oder materieller Welten befassen. Während sich der erste Part vor allem auf installative, skulpturale Werke als auch Videoarbeiten konzentriert, werden im anschließenden Ausstellungsteil On Curbstone Jewels and Cobblestones Werke aus dem Bereich Bildhauerei und Fotografie im Vordergrund stehen. Die Ausstellung mit Werken von fünfzehn KünstlerInnen aus sieben Ländern umkreist Aspekte des menschlichen Zusammenlebens in Ballungszentren, insbesondere in den schnell wachsenden Metropolen Chinas. Fiktiv, aber auch als konkrete Versuche in die sie prägende Gesellschaft zurückzuwirken, diskutieren die Künstler soziale wie politische Konsequenzen dieser Urbanisierung. Darüber hinaus machen uns die Werke einmal mehr bewusst, welche entscheidenden Wahrnehmungsverschiebungen im Blick auf China in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten stattgefunden haben.

Kuratiert von Renate Wiehager und Christian Ganzenberg
Kuratorische Beratung: Andreas Schmid

Downloads

Künstler

Termine

  • Samstag 21. November 2015
    -
    Führung durch die Ausstellung - Miniaturwelten. Untersuchungen zu Urbanisierung, Modernisierung und Mobilisierung
    Mit tragbaren Miniaturstädten im Kofferformat (Yin Xiuzhen), Miniatureisenbahn-Modellwelten (Cao Fei) und bunten Papierhäusern (Are You Meaning Company) untersuchen Künstlerinnen das Verhältnis von individuellem Leben und Urbanisierung, Modernisierung und Mobilisierung. In einem weiter gefassten Sinne gehen die Miniaturwelten nicht nur auf zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen ein, sondern rücken Fragestellungen zur Konstruktion von Geschichte und Erinnerung in den Fokus (Cao Fei, Yin Xiuzhen) oder laden zur Reflexion über Wohnformen in standardisierten Einzimmerapartments und modularen Häusern ein (Are You Meaning Company).
  • Samstag 12. Dezember 2015
    -
    Führung durch die Ausstellung - Von Vor- und Nachbildern. Transformationen von Kunst- und Filmgeschichte
    Viele KünstlerInnen nutzen die Kunst- und Filmgeschichte wie einen Werkzeugkasten und rekurrieren auf bereits existierende Werke oder inkorporieren tradierte Formen in ihre eigene Arbeit, um so kulturelle Standards zu transformieren und zu interpretieren. Die Führung legt ihren Fokus auf diese künstlerische Praxis und versucht weitläufige Wechselbezüge zu jeweiligen Vorlagen und Vorbildern nachzuzeichnen. So ist beispielsweise Alicja Kwades Videoarbeit Kreisel (Inception) eine Weiterbearbeitung der letzten Einstellung aus Christopher Nolans Blockbuster ›Inception‹ oder Cao Fei nutzt ganze, leicht modifizierte Textpassagen aus dem Drehbuch des Films ›Hiroshima mon amour‹ von Alain Resnais und Marguerite Duras.
  • Samstag 2. Januar 2016
    -
    Führung durch die Ausstellung - Jenseits des Erscheinungsrealismus. Künstlerische Positionen zwischen Fakt und Fiktion
    Zwischen Fiktion und Dokumentation oszillierend ist in vielen der ausgestellten Arbeiten der Traum- bzw. Realitätsstatus ungeklärt. Vielmehr sind die Übergänge zwischen den Bewusstseinszuständen ›Träumen‹ und ›Wachen‹ fließend und unterschiedliche Realitätsebenen nicht zu trennen. In den Arbeiten von Alicja Kwade und Wu Hao werden alltägliche Gegenstände durch künstlerisch-ästhetische Verfahren ihrem gewöhnlichen Gebrauchswert entrückt. Eine unscharf flirrende, sich überlagernde Trennlinie zwischen Dokumentation und Fiktion zeichnet die fotografische Arbeit von Zheng Guogu aus. Auch das Plastikspielzeug (Cao Fei) und Stadtmodelle aus Stoff und Schaumgummi (Yin Xiuzhen) richten sich gegen einen Erscheinungsrealismus und entrücken das Dargestellte ins Imaginäre.
  • Samstag 16. Januar 2016
    -
    Kinderworkshop
    Inspiriert von den künstlerischen Arbeiten der aktuellen Ausstellung werden wir gemeinsam im Daimler Contemporary visuelle Experimente durchführen, mit alten Stoffen arbeiten, vorgefundene Materialien veredeln und verborgene Zusammenhänge in Miniaturstrukturen erforschen.
    Unsere 2-stündigen Workshops richten sich an Schulkinder zwischen 6 und 12 Jahren. Die Zahl der Teilnehmenden beträgt ca. 10 Kinder pro Workshop. Die Veranstaltung ist kostenfrei. Bitte alte Kleidung anziehen! Um Anmeldung bitten wir bis spätestens eine Woche vor dem jeweiligen Termin unter art.collection@daimler.com
  • Samstag 23. Januar 2016
    -
    Führung durch die Ausstellung - Fotografisch vermittelter Wirklichkeitsbezug. Fotografie in der Gegenwartskunst
    ›On Curbstone Jewels and Cobblestones‹ vereint unterschiedliche mediale Ausdrucksformen im dialogischen Wechsel. Dabei bilden fotografische Arbeiten – in ihrem prekären Status als ›Bezugspunkt zur Realität‹ – einen Schwerpunkt der Ausstellung. Inszenierte, konzeptuelle und abstrahierte Aufnahmen werden präsentiert, ebenso wie Reenactments, Alltagsbilder oder Werkserien. Sie eröffnen eine Vielfalt von Betrachtungsmöglichkeiten: nicht nur hinsichtlich der Mittel, Potentiale und Limitierungen des Mediums Fotografie selbst, sondern auch bezüglich der Lebenswelten der dargestellten Personen und Orte. Entgegen der Auffassung von Fotografie als ›wirklichkeitsabbildendes‹ Instrument, zeigen die ausgestellten Fotos gestaltete Bilder und individuelle kritische Statements.
  • Samstag 13. Februar 2016
    -
    Führung durch die Ausstellung - Labor and Living Conditions. Künstlerische Auseinandersetzungen mit modernen Arbeits- und Lebensbedingungen
    Zentrales Thema des zweiten Teils der Ausstellungsserie zu chinesischer und internationaler Gegenwartskunst sind gegenwärtige – mit Verstädterung und Globalisierung einhergehende – sich rasant wandelnde Wohnbedingungen und Formen des Zusammenlebens. Welche gesellschaftsidentitären Folgen zeigt die Urbanisierung im Hinblick auf die aktuelle demographische und wirtschaftliche Situation in China und andernorts? Welche Rolle spielen in diesem Zusammenhang traditionelle und neue Wertekonzepte, lokale und internationale Produktionsmethoden, individualistische oder kollektive Lebensentwürfe ebenso wie Entwicklungsgefälle zwischen Land und Stadt? Und nicht zuletzt: Wie reflektieren zeitgenössische KünstlerInnen diese existentiellen Veränderungen?
  • Samstag 5. März 2016
    -
    Führung durch die Ausstellung - Material und Idee. Die Frage des Konzeptes in den Medien Fotografie und Skulptur
    Sowohl im Bereich der Fotografie als auch bei skulpturalen Arbeiten der Ausstellung bildet meist, im Zusammenhang mit der Materialwahl, ein konzeptueller Gedanke – etwa in Form einer strukturellen, thematischen oder formal stringenten, ›planerischen‹ Entscheidung des Künstlers – die Basis des jeweiligen Werkes. Insbesondere bei Serien (Cao Fei, Liu Zheng) und ›Doku-Fiktionen‹ (Zheng Guogu), aber auch präzise ›komponierten‹ Inszenierungen (Chen Chieh-Jen) wird die konzeptuelle Herangehensweise im Foto sicht- und nachvollziehbar sowie konstitutiver Teil der Arbeit. Ferner können zahlreiche Skulpturen der Ausstellung kaum mehr in klassischen ästhetischen Beschreibungs- und Bewertungsmustern gefasst werden: hingegen entfalten sie sich beispielsweise vor dem Hintergrund umfassender Recherchen und Referenzen zur architektonischen Moderne in Brasilien und unter Verwendung diverser natürlicher Materialien (Leonor Antunes); oder im Verlauf eines mehrere Akteure einbeziehenden Prozesses, wie im Fall von eingetrockneten Farbresten in Malgläsern und dem chinesischen Alltag entnommenen vielfach be- und überschriebenen Rolltoren (Wu Hao).
  • Samstag 26. März 2016
    -
    Führung durch die Ausstellung - Transformierte Alltäglichkeiten
    Inmitten von Transformationsprozessen sind viele KünstlerInnen auch Chronisten des gesellschaftlichen Wandels und der sprunghaft rasanten Veränderungen, die insbesondere in chinesischen Metropolen virulent sind. Überreste gelebter Alltagskultur verdichten sich in Yin Xiuzhens Werkserie One Sentence zu Bruchstücken von Geschichten. In fotografischen Arbeiten von Cao Fei und Zheng Guogu wird die Erforschung der Lebenswelt von FabrikarbeiterInnen oder eines geistig behinderten Obdachlosen zu einem kritischen Instrument, das den Künstlern ermöglicht, Einlassungen in politische, historische und menschliche Konstruktionen zu freizulegen.

Publikationen

Ausstellungen

schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".