Minimalism and Applied I

Objects for Imaginative and Real Use

September 21st 2007 — February 17th 2008
Daimler Contemporary Berlin

The artists engaged in minimalist, reduced aesthetics—from Josef Albers’ time as a lecturer at the Bauhaus in the 1920s through to contemporary positions, from Franz Erhard Walther or Martin Boyce—have always worked on the transfer of their rigorous artistic concepts to the applied arts. The exhibition abstains from simply juxtaposing Art and Design, in order to focus on artists from the Daimler Art Collection who have been working parallel in both areas.

Aspects of Applied Art are represented with examples from the fields of architecture, graphic design, brands and logos as well as furniture design. The exhibition survey is spanning from early works by Josef Albers and Arakawa/Gins to contemporary positions such as Andrea Zittel, Heimo Zobernig or Leonor Antunes. We have complemented the group of works by 25 artists with exemplary designs by Renzo Piano, the architect of Potsdamer Platz Berlin, as well as with design products by Gerrit Rietveld, Herbert Krenchel, Charles Eames und Konstantin Grcic.

As indicated by the exhibition’s subtitle the ‘transfers’ between fine art and applied arts can be practically applicable but might as well just ask for an imaginative, associative and playful ‘use’. Approaching the theme from the perspective of the collection’s history, the show aims at encouraging a dialogue between the developments in the areas as an open dialogue. Moreover Minimalism and Applied I marks the start of a new core area of the Daimler Art Collection, which will be continued in the next years.

Downloads

Artists

  • Eva Berendes
  • Josef Albers
  • Ruby Anemic
  • Leonor Antunes
  • Shusaku Arakawa
  • Max Bill
  • Martin Boyce
  • Krysten Cunningham
  • Stéphane Dafflon
  • Karl Duschek
  • Maria Eichhorn
  • Ossi Fink
  • Nic Hess
  • Donald Judd
  • Kazuo Katase
  • Imi Knoebel
  • Herbert Krenchel
  • Alexander Liberman
  • Sylvan Lionni
  • Richard Merkle
  • Isamu Noguchi
  • Danica Phelps
  • Gerrit Rietveld
  • Anton Stankowski
  • Franz Erhard Walther
  • Franz West
  • Lars Wolter
  • Andrea Zittel
  • Heimo Zobernig

Publications

  • Minimalism and Applied I

    Minimalism and Applied I

    Objects for imaginative and real use

    Renate Wiehager for the Daimler Art Collection , Berlin, 2007
    out of stock

Exhibitions

close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Minimalism and Applied I

Objekte zum imaginativen und realen Gebrauch

21. September 2007 — 17. Februar 2008
Daimler Contemporary Berlin

Künstler/innen im Umfeld einer minimalistischen, reduzierten Ästhetik – von Josef Albers’ Zeit als Lehrer am Bauhaus in den 1920er Jahren bis zu zeitgenössischen Positionen von Franz Erhard Walther oder Martin Boyce – haben immer auch an Übertragungen ihrer strengen künstlerischen Konzeptionen in den angewandten Bereich gearbeitet. Die aktuelle Ausstellung untersucht dieses Verhältnis eines minimalistischen Formenvokabulars im Grenzbereich zur angewandten Kunst. Auf das reine Nebeneinanderstellen von Kunst und Design wird dabei verzichtet und stattdessen der Fokus auf Künstler/innen der Daimler Art Collection gerichtet, die parallel in beiden Bereichen gearbeitet haben.

Aspekte angewandter Kunst sind repräsentiert in den Feldern Architektur, Grafikdesign, Logos und Branding sowie Möbeldesign. Der Bogen spannt sich hier von Josef Albers und Arakawa/Gins zu zeitgenössischen Positionen wie Andrea Zittel, Heimo Zobernig oder Leonor Antunes. Pars pro toto ergänzt sind die Werke der rund 25 Künstler/innen um Entwürfe von Renzo Piano, dem Architekten des Potsdamer Platzes, sowie um Designprodukte von Gerrit Rietveld, Herbert Krenchel, Charles Eames und Konstantin Grcic.

Wie der Untertitel der Ausstellung andeutet, werden Arbeiten vorgestellt, die sowohl einen realen Gebrauchswert haben als auch imaginativ, assoziativ oder spielerisch an die Vorstellungskraft appellieren. Aus der Perspektive der Sammlungsgeschichte heraus sollen diese zumeist getrennten Bereiche in einen produktiven Dialog miteinander gebracht werden. Gleichzeitig stellt Minimalism and Applied I den Beginn eines neuen thematischen Schwerpunkts dar, der in den nächsten Jahren fortgesetzt werden wird.

Downloads

Künstler

Publikationen

  • Minimalism and Applied I

    Minimalism and Applied I

    Objekte zum imaginativen und realen Gebrauch

    Renate Wiehager für die Daimler Art Collection , Berlin, 2007
    nicht Lieferbar

Ausstellungen

schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".