Visions of Exchange

Mercedes-Benz Art Scope Award 2009–2017

until November 4th 2018
Opening on Saturday, June 2, 2018, 03:00 - 06:00 p.m.
Daimler Contemporary Berlin

The exhibition “Visions of Exchange” presents the last eleven scholarship recipients of the “Mercedes-Benz Art Scope” artist-in-residence program. This art and culture program established in 1991 by Mercedes-Benz Japan began as support for Japanese artists with a stay in Monflanquin, in southwest France, near the Pyrenees. Thanks to a cooperative agreement with the Daimler Art Collection, Stuttgart / Berlin, the program has reoriented itself since 2004 and established itself as a Japanese-German cultural exchange. A three-month stay in the cities of Tokyo and Berlin allows the artists selected by the jury to deepen their knowledge of the host country’s culture, to make new contacts, and to develop artistic projects and ideas from the impressions they have gained. Exhibitions in the Hara Museum of Contemporary Art in Tokyo and the Daimler Contemporary in Berlin present the scholarship recipients and thus a selection of the contemporary art scene in each host country.

The focus is on works that have emerged from the program, complemented by works that permit insight into the origins of the work. Very different in their media, forms, and aesthetics, these works reflect the individual perception of the initially foreign and the impulses and insights that arise from the impressions gained: in approaching the new by gazing through the camera; in the artistic appropriation and transformation of found materials and phenomena; intrinsic to the works, in relying on the traditions of abstract imagery.

Eva Berendes (D), Rita Hensen (D), Ryosuke Imamura (J), Taro Izumi (J), Meiro Koizumi (J), Satoshi Ono (J), Benedikt Partenheimer (D), Hiroe Saeki (J), Tokihiro Satō (J), Jan Scharrelmann (D), Menja Stevenson (D)

Curators: Renate Wiehager and Wiebke Hahn

Downloads

Events

  • Sunday July 1st 2018
    -
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    Performance: "NippleJesus" by Nick Hornby
    Production: Marek S. Bednarsky
    Dramaturgy: Anna Gubiani
    With: Gerhard Polacek
    The production is a cooperation between the Württembergische Landesbühne Esslingen and Villa Merkel with support from the Esslinger Kunstverein e.V.

    The performance is held in German language.
    Please register by email at nadine.henrich@daimler.com
    Because the number of participants is limited, the date of receipt determines eligibility. Participation is free

    Dave works as a museum guard. Before that, he worked as a doorman and bouncer in a nightclub. At an exhibition of modern art, he has to watch over a room that only people 18 and over can enter. This is because the piece "NippleJesus" is a representation of Jesus on the cross, but it is also a collage of female nipples. At first, Dave is shocked and does his job only with great reluctance. But when he meets the artist in person one day, he changes his attitude and begins protecting the artwork from enraged attackers – he even protects it from his wife. Nonetheless, the work falls victim to an attack. At the end, Dave has to recognize that he is part of a staged process.

    Gerhard Polacek comes from Vienna but has lived in Esslingen since 1983. Theater studies at the University of Vienna. Since 1990, he has worked as an independent actor in theater (including with the Württembergische Landesbühne Esslingen, Zimmertheater Tübingen, Theater "tri-bühne", Theater Rampe in Stuttgart, Prinzregententheater in Munich), in film, and on television (including Polizeiruf 110, Großstadtrevier, Unter Verdacht, Romy, Tatort, Vier Frauen und ein Todesfall, Unter Tannen).

    The British writer Nick Hornby (*1957) is one of the most well-known contemporary representatives of pop literature. His novels "Fever Pitch", "High Fidelity", and "About a Boy" (screen adaptation in 2002) quickly became cult favorites. The short story "NippleJesus" was published in the anthology "Speaking with the Angel" in 2000 and has been performed in many theaters with great success.

  • Saturday July 7th 2018
    -
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    Thematic guided tour: Souvenirs – Following artistic traces
    Eva Berendes, Rita Hensen, Hiroe Saeki, Taro Izumi
    Art as well as the journey are privileged places of foreign experience. Both result in unforeseen things, inasmuch as they overwhelm, stimulate and strain the senses, perhaps overwork, but at the same time incite curiosity that challenges perception and thinking. During their scholarship stays in Tokyo and Berlin, the artists used their impressions and experiences to develop artistic strategies that give them their very own view of the city and its history. In addition to motivic bonds, the guided tour will also focus on formal aesthetic references to traditional techniques.
    The tour will be in German language.
  • Saturday August 4th 2018
    -
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    Thematic guided tour: Blind Spots – Invisible Memories
    Meiro Koizumi, Benedikt Partenheimer
    In light of historical catastrophes, various works in the current exhibition reflect on traumatic memories as stratifications and compresses of personal and collective disasters. In his theatrical-absurd video work Defect in Vision, Koizumi compiles a complex aesthetic of unrestrained history and creates an ambiguous vision of the past. Against the background of the nuclear catastrophe in Fukushima, which shaped Partenheimer's stay, his surreal photographs reveal not only a criticism of consumer behavior, but also of energy policy.
    The tour will be in German language.
  • Thursday August 30th 2018
    -
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    Lecture on contemporary Japanese video art and film screening featuring Ryosuke Imamura, Taro Izumi, Meiro Koizumi
    We begin with an introduction to contemporary Japanese video art. Next, the three video installations by Ryosuke Imamura, Taro Izumi, and Meiro Koizumi in our current exhibition are presented. The focus lies on references to role models in film in form and content. The thematization of historical, political, and aesthetic aspects is discussed. All the films can be seen in their full lengths.

    Friederike Horstmann is a research assistant at the film studies seminar at the Freie Universität of Berlin. Her writings on cinema and art appear in the film columns of the Perlentaucher and Cargo Film/Medien/Kultur magazines as well as in other publications. She has been working as a freelancer for the Daimler Art Collection for many years.

    Participation is free. Registration is not required.
  • Saturday September 1st 2018
    -
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    Thematic guided tour: Symphonies of the Big Cities - Urban Landscapes
    Taro Izumi, Tokihiro Satō, Jan Scharrelmann, Menja Stevenson
    The starting point of many of the works shown in the current exhibition are observations and experiences that deal with the urban space of Tokyo and Berlin and condense them into memorable images. By re-photographing individual locations in Tokyo 25 years later, Satō carries out a precise study of the transience. Presented as diptychs, the photographs contrast the massive transformation of the urban landscape. From the process of urban exploration, Izumi has developed an installative video work, which operates on the intersection of reality and fiction. focuses on the interface between inside / outside. Jan Scharrelmann's work frequently develops from contrasts, ambivalences, and contradictions. This affects the materials and formal decisions as well as the relationship to the surrounding space and possible readings for the viewer.The window piece by Menja Stevenson superimposes images of Tokyo, her home town Stuttgart and the surrounding of Haus Huth and thus formulates multiple viewpoints.
    The tour will be in German language.
  • Saturday October 6th 2018
    -
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    Thematic guided tour: Blind Spots – Invisible memories
    Meiro Koizumi, Benedikt Partenheimer
    In light of historical catastrophes, various works in the current exhibition reflected on traumatized memories as stratifications and compresses of personal and collective disasters. In his theatrical-absurd video work Defect in Vision, Koizumi compiles a complex aesthetic of unrestrained history and creates an ambiguous vision of the past. Against the background of the nuclear catastrophe in Fukushima, which shaped Partenheimer's stay, his surreal photographs reveal not only a criticism of consumer behavior, but also of energy policy.
    The tour will be in German language.
  • Saturday November 3rd 2018
    -
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    Thematic guided tour: Souvenirs – Following artistic traces
    Eva Berendes, Rita Hensen, Hiroe Saeki, Taro Izumi
    Art as well as the journey are privileged places of foreign experience. Both result in unforeseen things, inasmuch as they overwhelm, stimulate and strain the senses, perhaps overwork, but at the same time incite curiosity that challenges perception and thinking. During their scholarship stays in Tokyo and Berlin, the artists used their impressions and experiences to develop artistic strategies that give them their very own view of the city and its history. In addition to motivational bonds, formal aesthetic references to traditional techniques in leadership should also be focused on.
    The tour will be in German language.

Publications

Exhibitions

close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Visions of Exchange

Mercedes-Benz Art Scope Award 2009–2017

bis 4. November 2018
Eröffnung am Samstag, den 2. Juni 2018, 15:00 - 18:00 Uhr
Daimler Contemporary Berlin

Die Ausstellung ›Visions of Exchange‹ präsentiert die letzten elf Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten des Artist-in-Residence Programms ›Mercedes-Benz Art Scope‹. Das 1991 durch Mercedes-Benz Japan gegründete Kunst- und Kulturprogramm begann als Förderung japanischer Künstlerinnen und Künstler durch einen Aufenthalt im südwestfranzösischen Monflanquin, unweit der Pyrenäen. Durch die Kooperation mit der Daimler Art Collection, Stuttgart/Berlin, seit 2004 hat sich das Programm neu ausgerichtet und als ein japanisch-deutscher Kulturaustausch etabliert. Ein dreimonatiger Aufenthalt in den Städten Tokio und Berlin ermöglicht es den von der Jury ausgewählten Künstlerinnen und Künstlern Kenntnisse über die Kultur des Gastlandes zu vertiefen, neue Kontakte zu knüpfen und aus den gewonnenen Eindrücken künstlerische Projekte und Ideen zu entwickeln. Ausstellungen im Hara Museum of Contemporary Art in Tokio und im Daimler Contemporary in Berlin stellen die Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten und somit einen Ausschnitt der zeitgenössischen Kunstszene im jeweiligen Gastland vor.

Im Mittelpunkt stehen Arbeiten, die aus dem Programm hervorgegangen sind, ergänzt um Werke, die einen Einblick in die Werkgenese erlauben. Medial und formal-ästhetisch ganz unterschiedlich reflektieren sie die individuelle Wahrnehmung des zunächst Fremden und die Impulse und Erkenntnisse, die aus den gewonnenen Eindrücken heraus entstehen: In Annäherung an das Neue durch den Blick durch die Kamera; in künstlerischer Aneignung und Transformation gefundener Materialien und Phänomene; werkimmanent, im Rückgriff auf Traditionen der abstrakten Bildsprache.

Eva Berendes (D), Rita Hensen (D), Ryosuke Imamura (J), Taro Izumi (J), Meiro Koizumi (J), Satoshi Ono (J), Benedikt Partenheimer (D), Hiroe Saeki (J), Tokihiro Satō (J), Jan Scharrelmann (D), Menja Stevenson (D)

Kuratorinnen: Renate Wiehager und Wiebke Hahn

Downloads

Termine

  • Sonntag 1. Juli 2018
    -
    Daimler Contemprary Berlin
    Performance: „NippleJesus“ von Nick Hornby
    Nick Hornby, „NippleJesus“
    Inszenierung: Marek S. Bednarsky
    Dramaturgie: Anna Gubiani
    Mit: Gerhard Polacek
    Die Produktion ist eine Kooperation der Württembergische Landesbühne Esslingen mit der Villa Merkel mit Unterstützung durch den Esslinger Kunstverein e.V.

    Anmeldung bitte per E-Mail an nadine.henrich@daimler.com
    Da die Teilnehmerzahl begrenzt ist, entscheidet das Eingangsdatum. Teilnahme kostenlos.

    Dave arbeitet als Museumswärter. Früher war er Türsteher und Rausschmeißer in einem
    Nachtclub. In einer Ausstellung moderner Kunstwerke soll er einen Raum bewachen, in dem der Zutritt erst ab 18 Jahren erlaubt ist. Denn bei dem Bild „NippleJesus“ handelt es sich um eine Darstellung von Jesus am Kreuz – allerdings collagiert aus weiblichen Brustwarzen. Zunächst ist Dave schockiert und erledigt seinen Auftrag mit größtem Widerwillen. Als er aber die Künstlerin eines Tages persönlich kennen lernt, ändert er seine Einstellung und beginnt, das Kunstwerk vor empörten Angreifern zu schützen – auch seiner Frau gegenüber verteidigt er es. Trotzdem fällt das Werk einem Anschlag zum Opfer. Am Ende muss Dave erkennen, dass er Teil eines inszenierten Prozesses ist.

    Gerhard Polacek ist Wiener, lebt aber seit 1983 in Esslingen. Studium der Theaterwissenschaften an der Uni Wien, er arbeitet seit 1990 als freier Schauspieler am Theater (u.a. Württembergische Landesbühne Esslingen, Zimmertheater Tübingen, Theater „tri-bühne“, Theater Rampe in Stuttgart, Prinzregententheater München), bei Film und Fernsehen (u.a. Polizeiruf 110, Großstadtrevier, Unter Verdacht, Romy, Tatort, Vier Frauen und ein Todesfall, Unter Tannen).

    Der britische Schriftsteller Nick Hornby (*1957) gehört zu den bekanntesten zeitgenössischen Vertretern der Popliteratur. Seine Romane „Fever Pitch“, „High Fidelity“ und „About a Boy“ (Verfilmung 2002) wurden schnell zu Kult-Büchern. Die Kurzgeschichte „NippleJesus“ wurde im Jahr 2000 in der Anthologie „Speaking with the Angel“ veröffentlicht und seither mit großem Erfolg an zahlreichen Theatern aufgeführt.
  • Samstag 7. Juli 2018
    -
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    Themenführung: Souvenirs – Künstlerische Spurensuche
    Eva Berendes, Rita Hensen, Hiroe Saeki, Taro Izumi
    Die Kunst wie die Reise sind privilegierte Orte der Fremderfahrung. Beide bringen Unvorhergesehenes mit sich, insofern sie überfordern, die Sinne anregen und anstrengen, vielleicht überanstrengen, aber zugleich Neugier entfachen, die Wahrnehmung und das Denken herausfordern. Während ihrer Stipendienaufenthalte in Tokio bzw. Berlin haben die Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus ihren Eindrücken und Erfahrungen künstlerische Strategien entwickelt, die einen ganz eigenen Blick auf die jeweilige Stadt und ihre Geschichte entwerfen. Neben motivischen Anleihen sollen auch formalästhetische Rückgriffe auf traditionelle Techniken in der Führung fokussiert werden.
  • Samstag 4. August 2018
    -
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    Themenführung: Blind Spots – Unsichtbare Erinnerungen
    Meiro Koizumi, Benedikt Partenheimer
    Vor dem Hintergrund historischer Katastrophen reflektierten verschiedene Arbeiten der aktuellen Ausstellung traumatisierte Erinnerungen als Schichtungen und Kompressen von persönlichen und kollektiven Desaster. In seiner theatral-absurden Videoarbeit Defect in Vision erarbeitet Koizumi eine komplexe Ästhetik des Unverfugten der Geschichte und entwirft eine mehrdeutige Vision der Vergangenheit. Vor der Folie der Nuklearkatastrophe von Fukushima, die Partenheimers Aufenthalt prägte, kann in seinen surrealen Fotografien nicht nur eine Kritik am Konsumverhalten, sondern auch an der Energiepolitik freigelegt werden.
  • Donnerstag 30. August 2018
    -
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    Vortrag über zeitgenössiche japanische Videokunst und Film Screening mit Ryosuke Imamura, Taro Izumi und Meiro Koizumi
    Wir beginnen mit einer Einführung in die zeitgenössische japanische Videokunst. Im Anschluss werden die drei, in unserer aktuellen Ausstellung gezeigten Videoinstallationen von Ryosuke Imamura, Taro Izumi und Meiro Koizumi vorgestellt. Das Augenmerk liegt auf inhaltlichen und formalen Bezüge zu filmischen Vorbildern. Diskutiert werden die Thematisierung von historischen, politischen und ästhetischen Aspekten. Alle Filme werden in voller Länge zu sehen sein.

    Friederike Horstmann ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am filmwissenschaftlichen Seminar der Freien Universität Berlin. Ihre Texte zu Kino und Kunst erscheinen u.a. in der Kinokolumne des Perlentauchers und in der Zeitschrift Cargo Film/Medien/Kultur. Für die Daimler Art Collection ist sie seit mehreren Jahren als freie Mitarbeiterin tätig.

    Teilnahme kostenlos. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.
  • Samstag 1. September 2018
    -
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    Themenführung: Sinfonien der Großstädte – Urbane Landschaften
    Taro Izumi, Tokihiro Satō, Jan Scharrelmann, Menja Stevenson
    Ausgangspunkt vieler in der aktuellen Ausstellung gezeigter Arbeiten sind Beobachtungen und Erfahrungen, die sich mit dem urbanen Raum Tokios bzw. Berlins auseinandersetzen und ihn in einprägsamen Bildern verdichten. Durch ein erneutes Fotografieren einzelner Schauplätze in Tokio 25 Jahre später gelingt Satō eine präzise Studie der Vergänglichkeit, welche die städtebaulichen Veränderungen der Metropole in Form von Diptychen kontrastiert. Aus dem Prozess der Stadterkundung hat Izumi eine künstlerische Arbeit entwickelt, die durch ihre Lenkungen und Fügungen von Blicken und Klängen, von realen Schauplätzen und topografischer Karte, Brücken und Brüche zwischen Fiktion und Realität entstehen lässt. Jan Scharrelmann beschäftigt sich mit der Schnittstelle Innen/Außen. Das plastische Werk des Bildhauers entwickelt sich häufig aus Kontrasten, Ambivalenzen und Widersprüchen heraus. Dies betrifft die Materialien und Formentscheidungen, wie auch das Verhältnis zum umgebenden Raum und mögliche Lesarten für die Betrachtenden. Die Fensterarbeit von Menja Stevenson überlagert Eindrücke aus Tokio mit Aufnahmen ihrer Heimatstadt Stuttgart und der Umgebung des Haus Huth und verhandelt so künstlerisch multiple Blickbeziehungen.
  • Samstag 6. Oktober 2018
    -
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    Themenführung: Blind Spots – Unsichtbare Erinnerungen
    Meiro Koizumi, Benedikt Partenheimer
    Vor dem Hintergrund historischer Katastrophen reflektierten verschiedene Arbeiten der aktuellen Ausstellung traumatisierte Erinnerungen als Schichtungen und Kompressen von persönlichen und kollektiven Desaster. In seiner theatral-absurden Videoarbeit Defect in Vision arbeitet Koizumi eine komplexe Ästhetik des Unverfugten der Geschichte und entwirft eine mehrdeutige Vision der Vergangenheit. Vor der Folie der Nuklearkatastrophe von Fukushima, die Partenheimers Aufenthalt prägte, kann in seinen surrealen Fotografien nicht nur eine Kritik am Konsumverhalten, sondern auch an der Energiepolitik freigelegt werden.
  • Samstag 3. November 2018
    -
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    Themenführung: Souvenirs – Künstlerische Spurensuche
    Eva Berendes, Rita Hensen, Hiroe Saeki, Taro Izumi
    Die Kunst wie die Reise sind privilegierte Orte der Fremderfahrung. Beide bringen Unvorhergesehenes mit sich, insofern sie überfordern, die Sinne anregen und anstrengen, vielleicht überanstrengen, aber zugleich Neugier entfachen, die Wahrnehmung und das Denken herausfordern. Während ihrer Stipendienaufenthalte in Tokio bzw. Berlin haben die Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus ihren Eindrücken und Erfahrungen künstlerische Strategien entwickelt, die einen ganz eigenen Blick auf die jeweilige Stadt und ihre Geschichte entwerfen. Neben motivischen Anleihen sollen auch formal-ästhetische Rückgriffe auf traditionelle Techniken in der Führung fokussiert werden.

Publikationen

Ausstellungen

schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".