Freedom of Art

The Studio Gallery of the Goethe-Universität Frankfurt 1964–1968
A cooperation with the Daimler Art Collection

until July 8th 2018

Museum Giersch
der Goethe-Universität
Schaumainkai 83 (Museumsufer)
60596 Frankfurt am Main

Opening hours:
Tues. – Thurs. 12:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Fri. – Sun. 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Monday closed

In 2017, the Daimler Art Collection curated the exhibition “Serial Formations 1967/2017. Re-staging of the first German Exhibition of International Tendencies in Minimalism” (curator: Renate Wiehager) at the Daimler Contemporary exhibition space in Berlin. In a modified form, this exhibition is now moving to its second location at the Museum Giersch in Frankfurt, where its title will be “Freiraum der Kunst – Die Studio Galerie der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt 1964–1968” (Freedom for art – the Studio Gallery of the Goethe University Frankfurt 1964–1968 / curator: Manfred Großkinsky).
The Studio Gallery, which was run by the general student committee, organized exhibitions, happenings, and fluxus concerts involving famous German and international avant-garde artists from 1964 to 1968 at the university’s Bockenheim campus. These activities were seen as the students’ contribution to the democratization of society and documented the cultural mood of optimism in the 1960s. The climax of the Studio Gallery’s events was the “Serial Formations” exhibition curated by Peter Roehr and Paul Maenz in 1967. For the first time this brought together representatives of American minimal art with European works and it can now be re-staged at Giersch Museum Frankfurt as a result of the cooperation with the Daimler Art Collection. The exhibition about the Studio Gallery can be seen as the contribution of art history to the “50 Jahre ‘68” (50 years ‘68) project at the Goethe University.

 

Downloads

Artists

  • Hans Breder
  • Peter Brüning
  • Raimund Girke
  • Kuno Gonschior
  • Jan Henderikse
  • Bernhard Höke
  • Almir da Silva Mavignier
  • Henk Peeters
  • Charlotte Posenenske
  • Peter Roehr
  • Wolfgang Schmidt
  • Victor Vasarely
  • gruppe x (Jürgen Wegener, Peter Thoms, Wolfgang Lukowski)

Publications

Exhibitions

close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Freiraum der Kunst

Die Studiogalerie der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt 1964–1968
Eine Kooperation mit der Daimler Art Collection

bis 8. Juli 2018

Museum Giersch
der Goethe-Universität
Schaumainkai 83 (Museumsufer)
60596 Frankfurt am Main

Öffnungszeiten:
Di. – Do. 12:00 – 19:00 Uhr
Fr. – So. 10:00 – 18:00 Uhr
Montag geschlossen

Im Jahr 2017 hat die Daimler Art Collection die Ausstellung „Serielle Formationen 1967/2017. Re-Inszenierung der ersten deutschen Ausstellung internationaler minimalistischer Tendenzen“ (Kuratorin: Renate Wiehager) für den Berliner Ausstellungsraum Daimler Contemporary kuratiert. In veränderter Form wird diese Schau auf ihrer zweiten Station im Museum Giersch in Frankfurt vorgestellt unter dem Titel  „Freiraum der Kunst – Die Studiogalerie der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt 1964–1968“ (Kurator: Manfred Großkinsky).
Die vom Allgemeinen Studentenausschuss betriebene Studiogalerie veranstaltete von 1964 bis 1968 im Studentenhaus auf dem Campus Bockenheim Ausstellungen, Happenings und Fluxus-Konzerte mit namhaften Künstlerinnen und Künstler der nationalen und internationalen Avantgarde. Diese Aktivitäten verstanden sich als studentischer Beitrag zur Demokratisierung der Gesellschaft und dokumentieren die kulturelle Aufbruchsstimmung der 1960er-Jahre. Als Höhepunkt der Studiogalerie gilt die 1967 von Peter Roehr und Paul Maenz kuratierte Ausstellung »Serielle Formationen«. Diese brachte erstmals Vertreter der amerikanischen Minimal Art mit europäischen Positionen zusammen und kann nun dank der Kooperation mit der Daimler Art Collection im Museum Giersch der Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt a. M., nachgezeichnet werden. Die Ausstellung zur Studiogalerie versteht sich als kunsthistorischer Beitrag zum Projekt »50 Jahre 68« der Goethe-Universität.

 

Downloads

Künstler

Publikationen

Ausstellungen

schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".