Evoking Reality

Constituting actuality in photography and video art

November 25th 2018 — June 10th 2019
Daimler Contemporary Berlin

‘Evoking Reality’ presents objects of political photography and video art from the Daimler Art Collection (DAC) that formulate new concepts of approaching current images of reality. Starting in the early 1990s, the DAC expanded the focus of its collection to works of new media: photography, video, object art and installations. The new acquisitions were presented in the three-part exhibition series ‘Photography, Video, Mixed Media I-III’ between 2003 and 2007 at the Daimler Contemporary exhibition space in Berlin. This focus on photography and video has been pursued intensively ever since. Today, the collection consists of a constantly growing portfolio of significant works that visualize contemporary perspectives on global issues and political conflicts.

The exhibition ‘Evoking Reality’ is devoted to contemporary strategies that distance themselves from established principles of representation and popular narratives of photo journalism. These strategies create an open image of reality that aims for a critical sensitization in the observer. A critical consciousness is appealed to with regards to media’s methods of mediation and representation, which have shaped the modern eye with recurring images of suffering and scenes of violence for decades. Based on a re-reading of “Regarding the Pain of Others” (2003) by Susan Sontag, ‘Evoking Reality’ deals with current media and conceptual approaches to political, public and resulting private conflict situations. The interweaving of fiction, staging, construction and reality creates uncertainty in the observer, who experiences each strategy of alienation as unexpected and at the same time as an instance of reality creation. Openness and ambiguity encourage observers to work through the occurrences on their own, to reflect upon visual impulses and sometimes even to perform intellectual expurgation. Reality is experienced as a fragile construct that continuously changes its form from different perspectives. The works in this exhibition evoke a moment of reality that makes it possible to grasp the global reality of our lives through ambiguity, contradiction, interconnectivity and relativity.

The recently acquired twelve-part photo series Congo Democratic (2006) by Guy Tillim, who received the ‘Mercedes-Benz Award for South African Art and Culture’ in 2004, will be seen in Berlin for the first time. In addition, photographic works from artists including Jane Alexander, Clément Cogitore, Tacita Dean, Cao Fei, Pieter Hugo, Maya Zack and the video installations Snow White (2001) by Bernie Searle and Mermaids [Erasing the Border of Azkelon] (2011) by Sigalit Landau and The amorous Indies (2017) by Clément Cogitore are central elements of the exhibition.

›Evoking Reality‹ presents works by sixteen artists from ten different nations:
Mustafah Abdulaziz (USA), Jane Alexander (ZA), Clément Cogitore (F), Tacita Dean (GB), Alia Farid (KWT), Cao Fei (CHN), Abrie Fourie (ZA), Pieter Hugo (ZA), Sigalit Landau (IL), Richard Mosse (IRL), Viviane Sassen (NL), Oskar Schmidt (D), Berni Searle (ZA), Guy Tillim (ZA), Sharif Waked (IL/PS), Maya Zack (IL)

Curated by Renate Wiehager and Nadine Isabelle Henrich

Downloads

Artists

Events

  • -
    Daimler Contemporary
    Curator's tour-Evocative realisms
    Clément Cogitore, Richard Mosse, Berni Searle, Maya Zack
    The exhibition ›Evoking Reality‹ elaborates the evocative potential in artistic works that contrast explicit openness, ambiguity and dissonance with the neutrality topos of the documentary and thus allow an individual constitution of reality. Photography and video are examined for their limits and possibilities, their social functions and meanings, and in particular for conventions of representation and their instrumentalization in cultural, political and economic mechanisms and power dynamics. It is not only the fields of individual and collective conflict dimensions that unify the exhibition's works, but rather the complex, implicit relationship between form and content.
    The guided tour is in German language and free of charge. There is no registration necessary.
  • -
    Daimler Contemporary
    Thematic guided tour: History as a narrative construct
    Tacita Dean, Oskar Schmidt, Maya Zack
    In light of historical catastrophes, various works in the current exhibition reflect on traumatic memories as stratifications and summaries of personal and collective disasters. The tour is dedicated to complex artistic analyses of history and illuminates the relationship between individual fate and national history. Tacita Dean stages a sequence of quasi-cinematographic events with historical photographs. Oskar Schmidt brings to mind the pictorial compositions of iconic photographs by means of re-enactment. Maya Zack creates a traumatic experience through a digitally reconstructed memory space.

    The guided tour is in German language and free of charge. No registration necessary.

  • -
    Daimler Contemporary
    Fictive reality and real fictions – Filmscreening with Clément Cogitore
    Fictive reality and real fictions
    Film night with French artist Clément Cogitore

    Clément Cogitore was awarded the prestigious Prix Marcel Duchamp in 2018 for his video work "The Evil Eye" (2018). The media artist reacts to aspects of the trivialization and anonymization in the context of current image circulation. Cogitore’s work is characterized by a distinct visual intensity and a strong sense of storytelling that departs from reality and adjoins to imagination. The story of a women's voice travels through anonymous, stereotypical scenes of the stock trading global banks that provide the image material for advertising and political campaigns. This award-winning, recent work by the artist, shown at Centre Pompidou, can be seen now for the first time in Berlin.

    This first screening is followed by the film "Braguino" (48 min), awarded the Prix LE BAL. The film visualizes the everyday life of a family living in Siberia and their bitter conflict with their only neighbors in endless loneliness. Cogitore’s film tells a horrifying moment of civilization's failure and investigates the very moment of emergence of armed conflicts. Afterwards, Clément Cogitore will talk about his approach to the concepts of fiction and documentation and give an immediate insight into his artistic and filmic work.

    Talk moderated by curator Nadine Isabelle Henrich
    The event will be held in English. Admission is free of charge.
  • -
    Daimler Contemporary
    Thematic guided tour-Disposition shifts: Between journalism and art
    Mustafah Abdulaziz, Pieter Hugo, Richard Mosse, Guy Tillim
    Many exhibition photographs and films explore the boundaries between conventional photo-journalism and positions in contemporary art. They oscillate between pure documentation and technical alienation and also institutionally between photojournalistic contexts and museum exhibition spaces. The tour aims to illuminate this transfer with its different forms of reception and distribution. Even the recontextualization of the individual image within the many series shown in the exhibition seems to articulate skepticism-or even a relativity of one's own knowledge.
    The guided tour is in German language and free of charge. There is no registration necessary.
  • -
    Daimler Contemporary, 1. OG
    The Wakhan Front - Neither Heaven nor Earth
    The Wakhan Front - Neither Heaven nor Earth
    Film by the French director & media artist Clément Cogitore
    With an introduction from film scientist Friederike Horstmann

    In the context of our current exhibition ›Evoking Reality‹ we show the award-winning film The Wakhan Front - Neither Heaven nor Earth (2015) by French filmmaker and media artist Clément Cogitore. Afghanistan in 2014. The international troops gradually withdraw and Captain Antarés is to monitor with his men a valley that is tactically of great importance. Everything seems to be going according to plan until the soldiers are mysteriously beginning to disappear individually, inexorably. The omnipresence of military surveillance techniques allows the paranoid gaze of observing to emerge as a metaphor for war. The fearful eyes of the soldiers stare at the darkness, visibility is transformed and withdrawn, the enemy remains a phantom. Through scenes such as this Cogitore contrives a contemporary anti-war epic evoking the complex psychological dimensions of armed conflict.

    Introduction:
    Friederike Horstmann is a scientific employee at the film seminar of the Freie Universität Berlin. Her texts on cinema and art appear in Perlentaucher's cinema column and in the Cargo Film/Media/Culture magazine. For the Daimler Art Collection, she has worked as a freelance employee for several years.
    Admission is free. The introduction will take place in German. The film is shown in French original version with English subtitles.

    Registration requested: art.collection@daimler.com
  • -
    Daimler Contemporary
    Thematic guided tour-History as a narrative construct
    Tacita Dean, Oskar Schmidt, Maya Zack
    In light of historical catastrophes, various works in the current exhibition reflect on traumatic memories as stratifications and summaries of personal and collective disasters. The tour is dedicated to complex artistic analyses of history and illuminates the relationship between individual fate and national history. While Tacita Dean stages a new sequence of quasi-cinematographic events with historical photographs and Oskar Schmidt brings to mind the pictorial compositions of iconic photographs by means of re-enactment, Maya Zack creates a traumatic experience through a digitally reconstructed memory space.
    The guided tour is in German language and free of charge. There is no registration necessary.
  • -
    Thematic guided tour-Disposition shifts: Between journalism and art
    Mustafah Abdulaziz, Pieter Hugo, Richard Mosse, Guy Tillim
    Many exhibition photographs and films explore the boundaries between conventional photo-journalism and positions in contemporary art. They oscillate between pure documentation and technical alienation and also institutionally between photojournalistic contexts and museum exhibition spaces. The tour aims to illuminate this transfer with its different forms of reception and distribution. Even the recontextualization of the individual image within the many series shown in the exhibition seems to articulate skepticism--or even a relativity of one's own knowledge.
  • -
    Thematic guided tour - History as a narrative construct
    Tacita Dean, Oskar Schmidt, Maya Zack

    In light of historical catastrophes, various works in the current exhibition reflect on traumatic memories as stratifications and summaries of personal and collective disasters. The tour is dedicated to artistic analyses of history and illuminates the relationship between individual fate and national history. Tacita Dean stages a new sequence of quasi-cinematographic events with historical photographs, Oskar Schmidt brings to mind the pictorial compositions of iconic photographs by means of re-enactment. Maya Zack creates a traumatic experience through a digitally reconstructed memory space.
  • -
    Three days and three nights - Performance
    The German-Cuban theatre director and performance artist Viviana Medina Medina is staging a performance especially designed for the exhibition ›Evoking Reality‹, which - with reference to the Jonah-Myth (5th-3rd. Century BC) – evokes contemporary realities of migration. The real attempt at flight of the young Cuban woman, Sandra dos Santos, into the USA created the initial impulse of this performative work, which contrasts the global movements of goods and capital with the forced static of man. While contemporary art reflects the importance of human need for freedom and migration, by figures and themes such as immigrants, exile, tourists and urban hikers (Nicolas Bourriaud), the global reality is shaped by regulation and restriction. While often the attention is led towards the escape, Medina focusses on two other moments: the farewell and the arrival. This 30 - minute performance invites visitors to immerse themselves in this field of tension and reflect on the constitution of the black, female body in media, politics and society. After the performance, there is time for a conversation with artist and curator.

    Viviana Medina Medina is a theatre director and performance artist. She studied literature at the Freie Universität Berlin and theater at the Ernst Busch Academy. She initiated and realized various art and theatre projects, most recently she invited seven groups of artists to stage 15 - minute performances under the title "School of Moral" in the former women's prison in Berlin-Lichterfelde.

    Admission is free. The number of participants is limited to 35 persons.
    Registration requested under: maria.radke@daimler.com

    Voice: Ruby Commey
    Costume: Clarissa Fuhr & Florian Kiehl
    Direction, Performance & Text: Viviana Medina Medina

  • -
    Curator's tour - Evocative Realisms

    Clément Cogitore, Richard Mosse, Berni Searle, Maya Zack

    The exhibition ›Evoking Reality‹ elaborates the evocative potential in artistic works that contrast explicit openness, ambiguity and dissonance with the neutrality topos of the documentary and thus allow an individual constitution of reality. Photography and video are examined for their limits and possibilities, their social functions and meanings. Conventions of representation will be discussed regarding their instrumentalization in cultural, political and economic mechanisms and power dynamics. It is not only the fields of individual and collective conflict dimensions that unify the exhibition's works, but rather the complex, implicit relationship between form and content.

Publications

Exhibitions

close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Evoking Reality

Konstitution von Wirklichkeit in Fotografie und Videokunst

25. November 2018 — 10. Juni 2019
Daimler Contemporary Berlin

›Evoking Reality‹ stellt Positionen politischer Fotografie und Videokunst aus der Daimler Art Collection (DAC) vor, die Neukonzeptionen aktueller Realitätsbilder formulieren. Beginnend in den frühen 1990er Jahren erweiterte die DAC ihren Sammlungsschwerpunkt um Werke der Neuen Medien: Fotografie, Video, Objektkunst und installative Arbeiten. Die Neuerwerbungen wurden in der dreiteiligen Ausstellungsreihe ›Photography, Video, Mixed Media I-III‹ zwischen 2003 und 2007 im Berliner Ausstellungsraum Daimler Contemporary vorgestellt. Dieser Fokus auf Fotografie und Video ist seither intensiv weiterverfolgt worden. Die Sammlung umfasst heute ein stetig wachsendes Konvolut bedeutender Arbeiten, die zeitgenössische Perspektiven auf globale Thematiken und politische Konflikte visualisieren.

Die Ausstellung ›Evoking Reality‹ widmet sich zeitgenössischen Strategien, die sich von etablierten Darstellungsprinzipien und gängigen Narrativen des Fotojournalismus distanzieren, um ein offenes Wirklichkeitsbild entstehen zu lassen, das auf eine kritische Sensibilisierung des Betrachters zielt. Angesprochen wird ein kritisches Bewusstsein bezogen auf mediale Vermittlungs- und Darstellungsweisen, die das Auge mittels wiederkehrender Leidensbilder und Gewaltszenen seit Jahrzehnten prägen. Ausgehend von einer Re-Lektüre der Publikation ›Das Leiden Anderer betrachten‹ (2005) von Susan Sontag befasst sich die Ausstellung ›Evoking Reality‹ mit aktuellen medialen und konzeptuellen Herangehensweisen an politische, öffentliche und daraus resultierende private Konfliktsituationen. Das Ineinanderblenden von Fiktion, Inszenierung, Konstruktion und Realität verunsichert den Betrachter, der jene Verfremdungsstrategien zugleich unerwartet als realitätsstiftendes Moment erfährt. Offenheit und Vieldeutigkeit fordern den Betrachter auf, sich das Geschehen selbst zu erschließen, visuelle Impulse zu reflektieren und teils auch intellektuell zu revidieren. Wirklichkeit wird als fragiles Konstrukt erfahren, das aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven stets seine Gestalt ändert. Die Werke dieser Ausstellung evozieren ein Realitätsmoment, das eben durch Vieldeutigkeit, Widersprüchlichkeit, Interkonnektivität und Relativität unsere globale Lebensrealität greifbar werden lässt.

Die jüngst erworbene zwölfteilige Fotoserie Congo Democratic (2006) von Guy Tillim, der 2004 Preisträger des  ›Mercedes-Benz Award for South African Art and Culture‹ war, wird erstmals in Berlin zu sehen sein. Zudem bilden fotografische Arbeiten u.a. von Jane Alexander, Clément Cogitore, Tacita Dean, Cao Fei, Pieter Hugo, Maya Zack und die Videoinstallationen Snow White (2001) von Bernie Searle, Mermaids [Erasing the Border of Azkelon] (2011) von Sigalit Landau sowie The amorous Indies (2017) von Clément Cogitore Schwerpunkte der Ausstellung.

›Evoking Reality‹ präsentiert Werke von sechzehn Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus zehn Nationen:
Mustafah Abdulaziz (USA), Jane Alexander (ZA), Clément Cogitore (F), Tacita Dean (GB), Alia Farid (KWT), Cao Fei (CHN), Abrie Fourie (ZA), Pieter Hugo (ZA), Sigalit Landau (IL), Richard Mosse (IRL), Viviane Sassen (NL), Oskar Schmidt (D), Berni Searle (ZA), Guy Tillim (ZA), Sharif Waked (IL/PS), Maya Zack (IL)

Kuratiert von Renate Wiehager und Nadine Isabelle Henrich

Downloads

Künstler

Termine

  • -
    Daimler Contemporary
    Kuratorenführung durch die Ausstellung - Evokative Realismen
    Clément Cogitore, Richard Mosse, Berni Searle, Maya Zack
    Die Führung geht auf die historischen und zeitgenössischen Konflikte sowie auf Situationen ein, die den thematischen Hintergrund der Werke unserer Ausstellung bilden: u.a. Holocaust, (Post-) Apartheid, (Neo-) Kolonialismus, Rassismus, Geopolitik, Klimawandel, Nahostkonflikt. Kennzeichnend für alle Arbeiten sind explizite Offenheit und Ambiguität. Diese Qualitäten überwinden den Neutralitätstopos des Dokumentarischen und lassen ein evokatives Potenzial entstehen, der für die Betrachterinnen und Betrachter neue Deutungsräume eröffnet. Fotografie und Video werden nach ihren Grenzen und Möglichkeiten, ihren gesellschaftlichen Funktionen und möglichen Instrumentalisierung in Bezug auf kulturelle, politische und wirtschaftliche Mechanismen und Machtverhältnisse hin befragt.
    Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos und ohne Anmeldung.
  • -
    Daimler Contemporary
    Themenführung durch die Ausstellung - Geschichte als narratives Konstrukt
    Tacita Dean, Oskar Schmidt, Maya Zack

    Vor dem Hintergrund historischer Katastrophen reflektieren verschiedene Arbeiten der aktuellen Ausstellung traumatische Erinnerungen persönlicher und kollektiver Desaster. Die Führung widmet sich komplexen künstlerischen Analysen von Geschichte und beleuchtet das Verhältnis von individuellem Schicksal und nationaler Historie. Tacita Dean inszeniert mit historischen Motiven Geschichte quasi kinematografisch. Oskar Schmidt inszeniert Bildkompositionen ikonischer Fotografien mittels Re-Inszenierung. Maya Zack entwirft mittels digitaler Rekonstruktion einen traumatischen Erinnerungsraum.

    Die Führung findet in deutscher Sprache statt. Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos.
  • -
    Daimler Contemporary, 1.OG
    Fictive reality and real fictions – Film-Abend mit Clément Cogitore
    Clément Cogitore wurde 2018 für seine Videoarbeit "The Evil Eye" (2018) mit dem renommierten Prix Marcel Duchamp ausgezeichnet. Der Medienkünstler reagiert darin auf Aspekte von Trivialisierung und Anonymisierung im Kontext aktueller Bildzirkulation. Cogitores Werk zeichnet sich durch eine ausgeprägte visuelle Intensität und ein sicheres Gespür für das Erzählen von Geschichten aus, die von der Wirklichkeit ausgehen und an die Fantasie angrenzen. Die Erzählung einer Frauenstimme reist durch anonyme, stereotype Szenen des Aktienhandels global agierender Banken, die das Bildmaterial für Werbung und politische Kampagnen liefern. Diese preisgekrönte, jüngste Arbeit des Künstlers wird an diesem Abend erstmals in Berlin zu sehen sein.

    Weiterhin sehen Sie ein Screening des Films "Braguino" (48 min), ausgezeichnet mit dem Prix LE BAL. Der Film visualisiert den Alltag einer in Sibirien lebenden Familie und deren erbitterten Konflikt mit ihren einzigen Nachbarn inmitten endloser Einsamkeit. Cogitores Film erzählt auf poetische Art einen erschreckenden Moment des Versagens der Zivilisation und untersucht das Entstehungsmoment bewaffneten Konflikts. Im Anschluss wird Clément Cogitore über seinen Umgang mit den Konzepten von Fiktion und Dokumentation sprechen und Einblick in seine künstlerische und filmische Arbeit geben.

    Moderation durch Kuratorin Nadine Isabelle Henrich.
    Die Veranstaltung findet in englischer Sprache statt. Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos.
    Anmeldung erbeten unter: art.collection@daimler.com
  • -
    Daimler Contemporary
    Themenführung durch die Ausstellung - Dispositivwechsel: Zwischen Journalismus und Kunst
    Mustafah Abdulaziz, Pieter Hugo, Richard Mosse, Guy Tillim
    Viele Foto- als auch Filmaufnahmen der Ausstellungen loten die Grenzen zwischen konventioneller Reportagefotografie und Positionen zeitgenössischer Kunst aus. Sie oszillieren zwischen reiner Dokumentation und technischer Verfremdung und auch institutionell zwischen fotojournalistischen Kontexten und musealen Ausstellungsräumen. Die Führung möchte diesen Transfer mit seinen unterschiedlichen Rezeptions- und Distributionsformen beleuchten. Schon die Rekontextualisierung des Einzelbildes innerhalb der vielen in der Ausstellung gezeigten Serie scheint eine Skepsis oder besser eine Bedingtheit der eigenen Erkenntnis zu artikulieren.
    Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos und ohne Anmeldung.
  • -
    Daimler Contemporary, 1.OG
    The Wakhan Front - Neither Heaven nor Earth [Ni le ciel ni la terre] - Film-Abend
    The Wakhan Front - Neither Heaven nor Earth [Ni le ciel ni la terre] OmU
    Film des französischen Regisseur & Medienkünstlers Clément Cogitore
    mit einer Einführung der Filmwissenschaftlerin Friederike Horstmann

    Im Kontext unserer aktuellen Ausstellung ›Evoking Reality‹ zeigen wir den preisgekrönten Film The Wakhan Front - Neither Heaven nor Earth (2015) des französischen Filmemachers und Medienkünstlers Clément Cogitore. Afghanistan im Jahr 2014. Die internationalen Truppen ziehen sich allmählich zurück und Captain Antarés soll mit seinen Männern ein Tal überwachen, das für den Rückzug taktisch von großer Bedeutung ist. Alles scheint nach Plan zu verlaufen, bis die Soldaten auf mysteriöse Weise, unaufhaltsam, einzeln zu verschwinden beginnen. Die Omnipräsenz militärischer Überwachungstechniken lassen den paranoid observierenden Blick zur Metapher für den Krieg werden. Die furchtsam aufgerissenen Augen der Soldaten starren in die Dunkelheit, Sichtbarkeit wird transformiert und entzogen, der Feind bleibt ein Phantom. Durch Szenen wie diese entwirft Cogitore ein zeitgenössisches Anti-Kriegs-Epos, das die komplexen psychologischen Dimensionen bewaffneten Konflikts evoziert.

    Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos, Anmeldung erbeten: nadine.henrich@daimler.com
  • -
    Daimler Contemporary
    Themenführung durch die Ausstellung - Geschichte als narratives Konstrukt
    Tacita Dean, Oskar Schmidt, Maya Zack
    Vor dem Hintergrund historischer Katastrophen reflektierten verschiedene Arbeiten der aktuellen Ausstellung traumatische Erinnerungen als Schichtungen und Kompressen von persönlichen und kollektiven Desaster. Die Führung widmet sich komplexen künstlerischen Analysen von Geschichte und beleuchtet das Verhältnis von individuellem Schicksal und nationaler Historie. Während Tacita Dean mit historischen Aufnahmen eine neue Abfolge von Ereignissen quasi-kinematografisch inszeniert und Oskar Schmidt die Bildkompositionen ikonischer Fotografien mittels Re-Inszenierung vergegenwärtigt, entwirft Maya Zack durch digitale Rekonstruktion einen traumatischen Erinnerungsraum.
    Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos und ohne Anmeldung.
  • -
    Themenführung durch die Ausstellung - Dispositivwechsel: Zwischen Journalismus und Kunst
    Mustafah Abdulaziz, Pieter Hugo, Richard Mosse, Guy Tillim
    Viele Foto- als auch Filmaufnahmen der Ausstellungen loten die Grenzen zwischen konventioneller Reportagefotografie und Positionen zeitgenössischer Kunst aus. Sie oszillieren zwischen reiner Dokumentation und technischer Verfremdung und auch institutionell zwischen fotojournalistischen Kontexten und musealen Ausstellungsräumen. Die Führung möchte diesen Transfer mit seinen unterschiedlichen Rezeptions- und Distributionsformen beleuchten. Schon die Rekontextualisierung des Einzelbildes innerhalb der vielen in der Ausstellung gezeigten Serie scheint eine Skepsis oder besser eine Bedingtheit der eigenen Erkenntnis zu artikulieren.
    Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos und ohne Anmeldung.
  • -
    Themenführung durch die Ausstellung - Geschichte als narratives Konstrukt
    Tacita Dean, Oskar Schmidt, Maya Zack

    Vor dem Hintergrund historischer Katastrophen reflektieren verschiedene Arbeiten der aktuellen Ausstellung traumatische Erinnerungen als Schichtungen persönlicher und kollektiver Desaster. Die Führung widmet sich den künstlerischen Analysen von Geschichte und beleuchtet das Verhältnis von individuellem Schicksal und nationaler Historie. Tacita Dean inszeniert mit historischen Aufnahmen eine neue Abfolge von Ereignissen quasi-kinematografisch, Oskar Schmidt vergegenwärtigt die Bildkompositionen ikonischer Fotografien mittels Re-Inszenierung. Maya Zack entwirft durch digitale Rekonstruktion einen traumatischen Erinnerungsraum.
  • -
    Daimler Contemporary
    Three days and three nights – Performance
    Die deutsch-kubanische Theaterregisseurin und Performancekünstlerin Viviana Medina Medina inszeniert eigens für die Ausstellung ›Evoking Reality‹ eine Performance, die – mit Referenz auf die Jona-Erzählung (5.-3. Jh. v. Chr.) – zeitgenössische Wirklichkeiten der Migration evoziert. Der reale Fluchtversuch der jungen Kubanerin, Sandra dos Santos, in die USA bildet für Medina den Ausgangsimpuls dieser performativen Arbeit. Globale Bewegungen von Waren und Kapital werden einer erzwungenen Statik des Menschen gegenüberstellt. Während die zeitgenössische Kunst durch Figuren und Themen wie Immigranten, Exil, Touristen und urbane Wanderer (Nicolas Bourriaud) das menschliche Bedürfnis nach Freiheit und Migration spiegelt, ist die globale Wirklichkeit von Regulierung und Einschränkung menschlicher Bewegungs-Dynamiken bestimmt. Wo sonst das Auge auf die Flucht gelenkt wird, wählt Medina zwei andere Momente: den des Abschiedes und den der Ankunft. Die 30-minütige Performance lädt Besucher ein, in dieses Spannungsfeld. Im Anschluss an die Performance besteht Raum für ein Gespräch mit Künstlerin und Kuratorin.

    Viviana Medina Medina ist Theaterregisseurin und Performancekünstlerin. Sie studierte Literaturwissenschaften an der Freien Universität Berlin und Regie an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch. Sie initiierte und realisierte diverse Kunst- und Theaterprojekte, zuletzt lud sie sieben Künstlergruppen ein, unter dem Titel "Schule der Moral" im ehemaligen Frauengefängnis Berlin-Lichterfelde 15-minütige Performances zu inszenieren.

    Der Eintritt ist frei. Die Teilnehmerzahl ist auf 35 Personen beschränkt.
    Anmeldung erbeten unter: maria.radke@daimler.com

    Stimme: Ruby Commey
    Kostüm: Clarissa Fuhr & Florian Kiehl
    Regie, Performance & Text: Viviana Medina Medina

  • -
    Kuratorenführung - Evokative Realismen
    Clément Cogitore, Richard Mosse, Berni Searle, Maya Zack

    Evozierendes Potenzial verortet ›Evoking Reality‹ in künstlerischen Arbeiten, die explizite Offenheit, Ambiguität und Dissonanzen dem Neutralitätstopos des Dokumentarischen entgegensetzen und ein individuelles Moment von Wirklichkeitskonstitution entstehen lassen. Fotografie und Video werden auf ihre Grenzen und Möglichkeiten, ihre gesellschaftlichen Funktionen und Bedeutungen hin befragt. Die Führung diskutiert Darstellungskonventionen und deren Instrumentalisierung in kulturellen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Mechanismen und Machtverhältnissen. Nicht nur das Themenfeld individueller und kollektiver Dimensionen des Konflikts eint die Werke der Ausstellung, sondern insbesondere ihr komplexes, implizites Verhältnis von Form und Inhalt.

Publikationen

Ausstellungen

schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".