Zheng Chongbin
White Reflection, 2012

The polarized, diametrically opposed quality of the different political, cultural and artistic worlds that Zheng Chongbin has sought out experienced and considered analytically – in his birthplace Shanghai surrounded by classical Chinese painting and calligraphy and in San Francisco exploring the abstract Western art  – is reflected in his artwork in a very direct way. In formal terms, it is expressed through a duality of horizontal and vertical picture formats, of organic and geometrical forms, of open‑structured and monumentally solid picture surfaces. The color scheme acts out oppositions of black and white. In terms of materials, contrasts are provided by ink and acrylic paint. The artwork White Reflection, 2012 demonstrates the evolution of the artwork in terms of its materials, which is very important for Zheng. The artist works always (with music playing in the background) on extremely absorbent xuan paper, where the colored substances create waves and furrows in the paper; once the paper has dried, it can be reworked, or supplemented by the addition of further layers of paper. In a spectrum which ranges from the darkest black to silvery white tones – his artwork White Reflection could be said to represent, if one were to put it in musical terms, a ‘medium pitch’. As one sees its nuances of broken white, light gray shading, gray lines, darker depths, one feels as though one were listening to the bright, sonorous tone of a musical instrument.

Related artworks



abstract 76 Artworks

China 35 Artworks

Yin Xiuzhen
One Sentence – No. 40, 2011
Second hand clothes, stainless steel
Liu Ding
A story told to me by Wang Luyan, 2012
Photograph, text, oil on canvas, rope, text

Painting 114 Artworks

close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Zheng Chongbin
White Reflection, 2012

Das Werk von Zheng Chongbin ist charakterisiert durch die Polarität der politischen und künstlerischen Welten, die der Künstler in seinem Geburtsort Shanghai im Umfeld klassischer chinesischer Malerei und Kalligraphie als auch in San Francisco in der Begegnung mit der abstrakten, westlichen Kunst durchlebt und analytisch durchdacht hat. Die Gegensätze dieser Lebenswelten sprechen sich formal in der Dualität von horizontalen und vertikalen Bildformaten aus, Schwarz und Weiß, Tusche und Arcrylfarben, organischen und geometrischen Formen, offen strukturierten und monumental geschlossenen Bildflächen. Die Arbeit White Reflection, 2012, zeigt den für Zheng bedeutenden materiellen Entstehungsprozesses. Der Künstler arbeitet – im Hintergrund von Musik begleitet – stets mit dem sehr saugfähigen Xuan Papier, auf dem die farbigen Substanzen Wellen und Rillen im Papier erzeugen, die, nach Trocknung, überarbeitet oder um weitere Papierschichten ergänzt werden. Im Spektrum von dunkelster Schwärze bis zu weiß-silbernen Tönen repräsentiert White Reflection, musikalisch ausgedrückt, eine Art ›mittlere Tonlage‹, man sieht die Nuancen von gebrochenem Weiß, lichtgrauen Verschattungen, grauen Linien, dunkleren Tiefen, und meint, den hellen sonoren Klang eines Musikinstruments zu hören.

Verwandte Werke



Abstraktion 48 Werke

China 37 Werke

Yin Xiuzhen
Portable City: Stuttgart, 2010
Koffer, gebrauchte Kleidungsstücke, Klanginstallation
Yang Fudong
Yejiang/The Nightman Cometh Nr. 5, 2011
Tintenstrahldruck in Schwarz und Weiß

Malerei 115 Werke

Michael Zahn
Alias (Solid Grey Medium), 2005
Digitaldruck und Acryl auf Papier, Collage
Katja Davar
Little Oscars, 2001
Siebdruckfarbe, Stickerei auf Nessel
schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".