Pak Sheung Chuen
Waiting for a Friend (without Appointment), 2006/2014

  • Multi-part photo installation, photo copies, handwritten notes, photos, text; unique
  • Variable dimensions
  • Acquired in 2014
  • Conceptual Art Language Photography

Because time plays a special role in Pak’s work, the process takes precedence over the exhibited object. An item – or perhaps a state, a condition – may temporarily achieve the status of an artwork, but it may also lose this quality. The complete and updated version of Waiting for a Friend (without Appointment), 2006/2014, that has been acquired for the Daimler Art Collection, is a six-part composition of framed texts, handwritten notes and photographs. The presentation form and the nature of the collection form are a fixed part of the concept.

The individual elements of the installation expand on the event mentioned in the title, placing it within a network of multiple connections, of multiple meanings or interpretations: A Story about “Waiting” (1) consists of a religious motif in text form: the parable of the Good Samaritan, which appears in the Gospel of Luke and is intended to inspire brotherly love. Remember my Entire Friends’ Names (2) is reproduced by the artist in a new form for every edition. It is a diptych: on the right-hand page, the artist writes down all of the friends’ names that he can remember, whilst the blank left-hand side is – in paradoxical fashion – dedicated to those friends whose names he can no longer recall due to forgetfulness. In Waiting for a Friend (without Appointment) (3), the simple act of waiting – which, in this case, might be understood as an action remaining unperformed, and yet also as a form of action – determines the nature of the production and reception of an artwork. This chance encounter with a friend – staged, albeit with an open outcome (the artist waited in a city rail passage until one of his friends happened by) – is documented by a snapshot and by a brief exchange of words, and the marking of a point in time: 16:38 h. Waiting for All the People Sleep (4) observes and lists the times of going to sleep of all the people in a Hong Kong apartment building: visible from the outside of the building because of people switching the lights off in their rooms. Each protagonist is relatively important, but meaningless in relation to the whole. Waiting for a Friend (Without Appointment, Airport Version) (5) once again shows the artist waiting for a friend who does not turn up – this time, in the arrivals area of an airport. This section ends with A Poem (6), which defines the artwork’s key conceptual factor in poetic terms: ‘Time justifies its existence in the process of waiting…’

Related artworks



Conceptual Art 100 Artworks

Peter Halley
Mixed Grid Painting / Wallpaper, 2003
Acrylic and metallic acrylic, Roll-a-tex on canvas, digital wallpaper print
Santiago Sierra
111 Konstruktionen mit 10 Elementen und 10 Arbeitern (Nr. 63, #66/04), 2004
b-w photographies, framed, Ed. 1/2 + 1 AP

Language 23 Artworks

Yin Xiuzhen
One Sentence – No. 40, 2011
Second hand clothes, stainless steel
Yin Xiuzhen
One Sentence – No. 86, 2011
Second hand clothes, stainless steel
Yin Xiuzhen
One Sentence – No. 53, 2011
Second hand clothes, stainless steel

Photography 92 Artworks

Guy Tillim
Petros Village Emily, Alefa, Gloria Banda und Muyeso Makawa. Petros Village, Malawi, 2006
Pigment print on cotton paper, Ed. 2/8 + 1AP
David Goldblatt
On Steenkamp Street, Northern Cape, 4 June 2004, 2004
Digital inkjetprint on cotton rag paper, Ed. 1/10
Daniele Buetti
Looking for Love (Christian Dior), 1997
C-Print on aluminum, unique object
close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Pak Sheung Chuen
Waiting for a Friend (without Appointment), 2006/2014

  • Mehrteilige Foto-Installation, Fotokopien, handschriftlichen Notizen, Fotos, Text; Unikat
  • Maße variabel
  • Erworben 2014
  • China Fotografie Konzeptkunst Sprache

Weil Zeit bei Pak eine besondere Rolle spielt, hat der Prozess gegenüber dem Ausstellungsobjekt Vorrang. Etwas, oder ein Zustand, erlangt temporär den Status eines Kunstwerkes, kann diese Qualität aber auch wieder verlieren. Die für die Daimler Art Collection erworbene, komplette und aktualisierte Version von Waiting for a Friend (without Appointment), 2006/2014, ist eine sechsteilige Konstellation aus gerahmten Texten, handschriftlichen Notizen und Fotografien. Präsentations- und Sammelform sind festgelegter Teil der Konzeption.

Die einzelnen Elemente der Installation erweitern das im Titel aufgeführte Ereignis und setzen dieses in ein vielfach verknüpfbares Geflecht von (Be-)Deutungen: A Story about “Waiting” (1) besteht aus einem religiösen Motiv in Textform, das Gleichnis des  guten Samariters, die als Teil des Lukasevangeliums den Leser zur Nächstenliebe anregen soll. Remember my Entire Friends’ Names (2) wird für jede Edition neu vom Künstler angefertigt, indem er auf das rechte Blatt eines Diptychons alle Namen von Freunden schreibt, an die er sich erinnern kann, und die linke leere Seite – paradoxerweise – denjenigen Freunden gewidmet ist, deren Namen, dem Vergessen geschuldet, er nicht mehr im Gedächtnis hat. Der schlichte Akt des Wartens, welcher hier vielleicht als das Ausbleiben einer Aktion, aber dennoch als eine Art Handeln verstanden werden kann, dekliniert in Waiting for a Friend (without Appointment) (3) die Produktion und Rezeption eines Kunstwerkes. Die zufällige, aber trotz ihres offenen Ausgangs inszenierte Zusammenkunft mit einem Freund (der Künstler wartete im Durchgangsbereich einer S-Bahn so lange, bis einer seiner Freunde vorbei kam), wird in einem Schnappschuss und kurzen Wortwechsel sowie dem markierten Zeitpunkt, 16:38 h, dokumentiert. Waiting for All the People Sleep (4) beobachtet und listet die durch das Löschen des Zimmerlichts von auβen sichtbaren Schlafenszeiten der in einem Hongkonger Mehrfamilienhaus lebenden Menschen auf: Jeder Protagonist ist dabei verhältnismäßig wichtig, jedoch in Relation zum Ganzen bedeutungslos. Waiting for a Friend (Without Apointment, Airport Version) (5) zeigt wiederum – hier in der Ankunftszone eines Flughafens – das vergebliche Warten des Künstlers auf einen Freund. Die Sektion schließt mit einem Gedicht, A Poem (6), das den zentralen konzeptuellen Faktor der Arbeit dichterisch umschreibt: »Zeit rechtfertigt ihre Existenz im Prozess des Wartens…«

Verwandte Werke



China 37 Werke

Thomas Struth
Zhejian Zhong Lu, Shanghai 1997, 1997
C-Print, Ed. 3/10
Wu Hao
I pity you No. 3, 2014
Acryl auf Leinwand
Qiu Zhijie
Calligraphy of Written Backward: Sand of Silk-washing Stream by Su Shi, 2008
Tinte auf Papier, Video

Fotografie 86 Werke

Mário Macilau
Untitled (Moments of Transition) #2, 2014
Druck auf seidenmattem Papier
Cor Dera
Untitled (Hummingbirds), 1993
Offsetfotografie auf Holz

Konzeptkunst 96 Werke

Luca Trevisani
Die Befindlichkeit des Landes, 2013
UV-Direktdruck auf Spiegelfolie
Benni Efrat
Adding to Subtract, 1969
Tusche auf kariertem Papier, 2 Teile
Luca Trevisani
Seven Boards of Skill, 2008
Aluminium, Kork, Fotofolie, Klammer aus Metall

Sprache 23 Werke

schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".