Artwork

Marius Glauer
Untitled II, 2015

Trash or treasure? Sculptor or photographer? Installation or display? A myriad of questions arises when observing the works of Marius Glauer, born in Oslo, Norway, now living in Berlin, Germany. His artistic creations blur the lines between high and low, abstract and concrete, organic and digital, serious and ironic, sexy and obscene. In terms of material and discourse, Glauer covers the full range of anything and everything that can be considered photography. His particular point of interest is the threshold between digital photography and sculpture. Since graduating from UdK (Berlin University of the Arts) as a master student of Josephine Pryde’s, Glauer prefers uncommon materials in his works: Fabric with bizarre patterns, everyday objects such as bags, flowers, office supplies, wrapping material, changeable substances like ink or whipped cream, and a variety of lenticular foil. These foils are mostly known from postcards where the subjects change based on the beholder’s perspective. Thus every new perspective on Glauer’s photographs creates a different image.

Oftentimes, preceding works and biographical events produce the materiality and theme of his performative arrangements. The standalone pictures of his group of works produced in series are digitally fixed prototypes – photographic still lifes of his assembled materials in a state of flow. The majority exists only as a limited number of digital C-prints. According to Adorno, true intention is only possible as one relinquishes intention. Along these lines, Glauer’s camera looks intimately at its objects while uncovering them at the same time: Sparkling surfaces and reflecting foils change into monumental facades manipulating scale, details of fabric and light refraction are magnified to hyper real highlights. Glauer examines the visual relevance of his ephemeral ensembles and questions their translation into photographic two-dimensionality. Daimler Art Collection purchased his Untitled II, 2015, a piece from a group of works containing only three subjects. In it, the artist experimented with merely a three-colored foil garland, a pipe of transparent acrylic glass, and black ink.

The photographs of Marius Glauer are never finished or fixed. Rather, they are in search of something new to be absorbed and in return left behind as its own creation. They intend to broaden the possibilities of photography and question medial limits. Thus, Glauer creates images of the future or even “photographic science fiction” (Simon Elson).

“Rock’n’Roll every night, underneath the neon light.”

Related artworks



Abstraction 50 Artworks

Arakawa + Gins
Morning Picture - Portrait of a Civilisation, 1969
Oil on canvas

Installation 60 Artworks

Photography 105 Artworks

Yang Fudong
The Coloured Sky: New Women II, 5 , 2014
Photography, color inkjet print on Hahnemühle ultra smooth paper 305 g
Pieter Hugo
Portrait #12, as part of the series 1994, Rwanda, 2015
C-Print

Sculpture 79 Artworks

Jim Lambie
Doors (Humanizer), 2003
Wood, mirror, gloss paint
close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Werk

Marius Glauer
Untitled II, 2015

Trash oder Treasure? Bildhauer oder Fotograf? Installation oder Display? Die Fragen, die sich vor den Werken des in Oslo geboren und in Berlin lebenden Künstler Marius Glauer auftun, sind vielgestaltig und weitreichend. In seinem künstlerischen Schaffen gibt es keine klaren Abgrenzungen und die Unterscheidungen zwischen „high or low“, abstrakt oder konkret, organisch oder digital, ernsthaft oder ironisch, sexy oder obszön werden undeutlich. Glauer durchmisst mit seinen Werken die gesamte materielle und diskursive Bandbreite dessen, was als „Fotografie“ gelten kann. Dabei ist der Grenzbereich zwischen digitaler Fotografie und Bildhauerei sein auserkorenes Steckenpferd. Seit seinem Abschluss – als Meisterschüler von Josephine Pryde an der UdK Berlin – finden sich bevorzugt bizarr gemusterte Stoffe, Alltagsgegenstände, wie Taschen, Blumen, Bürobedarf oder Verpackungsmaterial, aber auch unbeständige Materialien, zum Beispiel Tinte oder Sprühsahne, und immer wieder verschiedene Lentikularfolien in seinen Bildern. Diese kennt man aus Postkarten, bei denen sich das Motiv je nach Blickwinkel des Betrachters verändert. Je nach Perspektive entsteht so ein gänzlich anderes Bild, wie auch in den „shootings“ von Marius Glauer.

Die Materialität und das „Thema“ seiner performativen Versuchsanordnungen ergeben sich stets aus ihren Vorgängern und nicht selten auch aus biografische Begebenheiten. Die Einzelbilder seiner in Serien entstehenden Werkgruppen sind digital fixierte „Prototypen – fotografische „Stillleben“ seiner Materialassemblagen „im Flowzustand“ (M.G.). Sie werden meist nur in kleiner Auflage als digitale C-Prints abgezogen. Adorno schreibt, das wahre Intention erst beim Verzicht auf die Intention möglich wird. So blickt Glauers Kamera intim und zugleich entblößend auf die „Hauptdarsteller“: Glitzernde Oberflächen und reflektierende Folien wandeln sich in monumentale Fassaden, Maßstäblichkeit wird in Frage gestellt, Stoffdetails und Lichtbrechungen werden zu hyperrealen Highlights vergrößert. Glauer untersucht die visuelle Relevanz seiner ephemeren Ensembles und hinterfragt deren Übersetzbarkeit in die fotografischen Zwei-Dimensionalität. Das von der Daimler Art Collection erworbene Untitled II, 2015, gehört zu einer nur drei Motive umfassenden Werkgruppe, in der der Künstler mit einer dreifarbigen Foliengirlande, einem transparenten Plexiglasrohr und schwarzer Tinte experimentierte.

Die Fotografien Marius Glauer sind nichts Abgeschlossenes oder Fixiertes, vielmehr sind sie Spuren auf der Suche nach etwas Neuem, „das aufgenommen werden kann, um wiederum hinterlassen zu werden“(M.G.). Ihr Anliegen ist es, die Möglichkeiten der Fotografie zu erweitern und mediale Beschränkungen zu hinterfragen. Dabei entstehen Bildern aus der Zukunft oder auch „fotografische Science Fiction“ (Simon Elson).

“Rock’n Roll every night, underneath the neon light.“

Verwandte Werke



Abstraktion 53 Werke

Michael Zahn
Untitled (Palette with Objects), 2002
Acryl auf Acrylglas

Fotografie 105 Werke

Guy Tillim
Kamajoor-Milizen, 2001
Pigmentdruck auf 300 g Baumwollpapier, Aufl. 1/5 + 1 AP
Guy Tillim
Petros Village, Malawi, Boy undressing, 2006
Pigmentdruck auf Baumwollpapier, Aufl. 2/5

Installation 59 Werke

Natalia Stachon
Drift 03, 2012
Acrylglasrohre, Seil, Gurte, Haken, Aufl. 1/1 + AP
Sylvie Fleury
Aura Soma, 2002
102 Flaschen (je 50ml) und 4 Leuchtkästen, Aufl. 1/3

Skulptur 75 Werke

Nam June Paik
Nam Sat, 1997
Stahl, Acrylglas, Leuchtstoffröhren, 24 Monitore, 4 DVD-Player
George Rickey
Two Lines excentric jointed with six angles, 1987
Rostfreier Stahl
schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".