Artwork

Marcellvs L
0667, 2003

For years, Marcellvs L. has been filming moments he has confronted by chance, always with a fixed camera, hand-held, or using rapidly invented places to stand or attachments. The shots last for as long as the situation itself, or as long as the technical conditions allow. The film material is then manipulated to a very small extent, with the emphasis on the sound, which the artist – often working with the Brazilian group pexbaA – alters or replaces by playing different sound in. The three films in the Daimler Art Collection are excellent examples of this extreme minimalization of content and form.
In the video 0667 viewers see a person at the end of a country road, shimmering in the light and disappearing on the horizon. The person appears first of all as a small dot moving in the distance, focusing concentration as he slowly but inexorably approaches. Three contrasting rhythms develop from the depths of the picture space: the more rapid rhythm of the approaching cars on the dusty carriageway, as opposed to the walking man’s ‘pace by pace’, backed by the static nature of the undefined natural space, with only the wind providing movement.

Related artworks



Conceptual Art 101 Artworks

Georg Winter
Psychotektonische Prozesse: Black Out, 2013
Mixed media
Iman Issa
Material for a sculpture commemorating the life of a soldier who died defending his nation against intruding enemies, 2012
Four painted wooden sculptures on white plinth, blank book with four inserts, vinyl text on wall

Video 45 Artworks

Fang Lu
Cinema, 2013
7-channel video installation, sound 5.1, Ed. 3/5
Ian Anüll
Out of the box, 1995
video, loop, ca. 3 min., screen, player, cardbox
Qiu Zhijie
Calligraphy of Written Backward: Sand of Silk-washing Stream by Su Shi, 2008
Ink on paper, video
close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Marcellvs L
0667, 2003

Marcellvs L. filmt seit Jahren Momente, mit denen er zufällig konfrontiert ist, stets mit fixierter Kamera, aus der Hand oder mit schnell zu erfindenden Standflächen und Halterungen. Die Aufnahme dauert so lange, wie die Situation selbst zeitlich sich dehnt bzw. die technischen Bedingungen es erlauben. Das Filmmaterial wird anschließend geringfügig bearbeitet, der Akzent der Bearbeitung liegt beim Sound, den der Künstler – häufig in Zusammenarbeit mit der brasilianischen Gruppe pexbaA – durch eingespielte Klänge ver-ändert oder ersetzt. Die drei Filme der Daimler Kunst Sammlung repräsentieren beispielhaft diese extreme Minimalisierung von Inhalt und Form.
In dem Video 0667 sieht der Betrachter am Ende einer im Licht flimmernden, sich am Horizont verlierenden Landstraße eine Person, zunächst nur als fernen Bewegungspunkt, der langsam, aber unausweichlich im Näherkommen die Konzentration auf sich zieht. Drei kontrastierende Rhythmen entwickeln sich aus der Tiefe des Bildraums heraus: der schnellere Rhythmus der herankommenden Autos auf der staubigen Fahrbahn, dagegen das ›Schritt-für-Schritt‹ des Gehenden, hinterfangen von der nur vom Wind bewegten Statik des undefinierten Naturraumes.

Verwandte Werke



Konzeptkunst 96 Werke

Liu Zheng
The Chinese, 1994
30 Archiv Inkjet-Drucke
Alicja Kwade
Bordsteinjuwelen (Brunnenstraße), 2008
Geschliffener Straßenstein

Video 38 Werke

Sigalit Landau
Mermaids (Erasing the Border of Azkelon), 2011
Video, Aufl. 3/9 + 2 AP
Peter Roehr
Filmmontagen I + II + III, 1965
16mm-Film auf Video, auf DVD
schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".