Artwork

Karl Heinz Adler
Serielle Lineaturen über Kreis, 1967

  • Collage, velour paper, silver paper, graphite on cardboard
  • 40x50cm
  • Acquired in 2016

In the most recent catalogue of artworks relating to Karl Heinz Adler, Eugen Gomringer writes that his creative activity is represented by “the linearity of the medium”. Here, Gomringer is primarily referring to the Serielle Lineaturen, which constitutes the most extensive and fundamental artwork group in the artist’s oeuvre and which occupied Adler for almost two decades. Serielle Lineatur über Kreis is one of the first examples of this artwork group, which, in 1967-68, emerged from the fan-like spread forms of layerings. The Lineaturen were created in series, within which Adler was able to vary and shift concepts established a priori. In the collage in the Daimler Art Collection, created using various types of paper on drawing cardboard, a circle breaks through the severe grid of grey strips and black squares. Fine graphite lines are marked out on the grey strips with great precision, with the interstices in the area of the circle producing white, plastic strips. The piece shows Adler’s desire for purity, clarity, and economy of artistic technique: the lines and strips visualise his preference for rhythm and repeating forms. Adler’s Serielle Lineaturen appear unique and visionary particularly with regard to their context in the GDR, where any form of non-representational art was rejected. For this reason also, Adler also looked for the regularity and beauty of concrete and constructive art on freestanding walls in the city space; in the 1960s, he engaged with the association of fine artists “Kunst am Bau” (“art for buildings”) in Dresden.

Karl Heinz Adler

* 1927 Remtengrün, D
† 2018 Dresden, D
more
Karl Heinz Adler
Entwurf für Wandgestaltung (Draft for walldesign), 1972, 1972
Gouache and collage

Related artworks



Drawing 32 Artworks

Christo
Wrapped Woman (Project of Pennsylvania), 1968
Graphite, chalk on paper
Robert Longo
Untitled (black car), 1996
Graphite on paper mounted on masonite

Geometric abstraction 16 Artworks

Max Bill
combillation aus 30 gleichen elementen in 6 gruppen, 1986
Polyester reinforced with fiberglas
Max Bill
quinze variations sur un même thème / 15 variations on one theme, 1935
Lithograph, Ed. 200
close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Karl Heinz Adler
Serielle Lineaturen über Kreis, 1967

Eugen Gomringer schreibt im jüngsten Werkkatalog zu Karl Heinz Adler, dass „das Lineare das Agens“ seiner kreativen Tätigkeit sei. Gomringer meint damit vor allem den Zyklus der Seriellen Lineaturen, der im Werk des Künstlers die umfangreichste und grundlegendste Werkgruppe einnimmt und Adler fast zwei Jahrzehnte beschäftigte. Die Serielle Lineatur über Kreis zählt zu den ersten Exempeln der Werkgruppe, die in den Jahren 1967 -68 aus den fächerartig ausgebreiteten Formen der Schichtungen hervorging. Die  entstanden in Serien, innerhalb derer Adler seine a priori festgelegten Konzeptionen variieren und verschieben konnte. In der Collage der Daimler Art Collection, gefertigt aus verschiedenen Papieren auf Zeichenkarton, durchbricht ein Kreis das strenge Raster grauer Streifen und schwarzer Quadrate. Auf den grauen Streifen sind feine Graphitlinien akribisch aufgetragen, aus deren Zwischenräumen im Bereich des Kreises weiße, plastische Streifen entstehen. Das Blatt zeugt von Adlers Wunsch nach Sauberkeit, Klarheit und Sparsamkeit der künstlerischen Mittel, die Linien und Streifen visualisieren seine Vorliebe für Rhythmus und sich wiederholende Formen. Solitär und visionär erscheinen Adlers Serielle Lineaturen insbesondere im Hinblick auf seinen Kontext in der DDR, die gegenstandsfreie Kunst schlichtweg ablehnte. Auch deshalb suchte Adler die Ordnung und Schönheit konkreter und konstruktiver Kunst auch auf freistehenden Wänden im Stadtraum, in dem er sich bereits in den 1960er Jahren in der Genossenschaft bildender Künstler „Kunst am Bau“ in Dresden engagierte.

Karl Heinz Adler

* 1927 Remtengrün, D
Lebt und arbeitet inDresden, D
mehr

Verwandte Werke



DDR 4 Werke

Geometrische Abstraktion 15 Werke

Max Bill
combillation aus 30 gleichen elementen in 6 gruppen, 1986
Polyester mit Glasfaser verstärkt

Zeichnung 30 Werke

Katja Davar
The Dog Walkers of Statistic Fields, 2007
Bleistift und Graphit auf Papier
schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".