Artwork

Gregor Hildebrandt
Non perderti per niente al mondo (Paolo Conte), 2019

  • Audio cassette tape, start and end of audio cassettes, crepe masking tape and acrylic on canvas
  • 127 x 127 cm
  • Acquired in 2019

“True boogie-woogie I conceive as homogeneous in intention with mine in painting: destruction of melody which is the equivalent of destruction of natural appearance; and construction through the continuous opposition of pure means—dynamic rhythm.” Piet Mondrian’s statement on his late Boogie-Woogie-paintings identifies an aspect that is also central to the work of Gregor Hildebrandt: the destruction of given melodies and musical themes, in a broader sense, as the destruction of the concept of the ‘closed composition’ of the artwork in favor of an ‘open composition’ with opposing points of connection. His material—VHS and cassette tapes, records and the like—samples the individual aesthetic preferences of the artist, the zeitgeist and the auditory and visual associations of the viewer. Visual scores, based on recorded music, draw free rhythms from the seamless or open constructive addition of the shiny black music tapes. We see the abstract beat in the work and at the same time, in our imagination, hear the music, whose titles we see quoted in the labels accompanying the images, or that we might easily recall. In a new group of works from 2017 to 2019, Gregor Hildebrandt dedicated some of his image-objects to the great role models of the twentieth century in the context of sound, image and rhythm: Piet Mondrian, Anni and Josef Albers, François Morellet and others. Hildebrandt replaces the black right-angled lines of Mondrian’s paintings with audio cassette tape, which, in the case of the work in the Daimler Art Collection, corresponds to a recording of the song by Paolo Conte from 1981, Non perderti per niente al mondo. Thus, Hildebrandt guides the viewer’s imagination towards the world of Italian popular songs of the 1980s. At the same time, the advice inherent in the title, which translates as “Don’t miss out on anything in the world,” opens up new dimensions of experience. “I am giving a voice to Mondrian because his paintings are all recorded with something, even if it’s just emptiness,” Hildebrandt comments.

close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Werk

Gregor Hildebrandt
Non perderti per niente al mondo (Paolo Conte), 2019

  • Audiokassettenband, Beginn und Ende von Audiokassetten, Kreppband und Acryl auf Leinwand
  • 127 x 127 cm
  • Erworben 2019

»Echten Boogie-Woogie begreife ich vom Ansatz her als homogen mit meiner malerischen Intention: Zerstörung der Melodie, was der Zerstörung der natürlichen Erscheinung gleichkommt, und Konstruktion durch die fortlaufende Gegenüberstellung reiner Mittel – dynamischer Rhythmus.« Piet Mondrians Statement zu seinen späten Boogie-Woogie Bildern (1942-44) benennt einen Aspekt, der auch für das Werk von Gregor Hildebrandt zentral ist: die Zerstörung gegebener Melodien oder musikalischer Themen, in einem weiter gefassten Sinn: der geschlossenen Werkauffassung zugunsten offener Konstruktionen mit konträr argumentierenden Anknüpfungspunkten. Sein Material – VHS und Kassetten-Bänder, Schallplatten u. a. – sampelt gleichsam individuelle ästhetische Präferenzen des Künstlers, Zeitgeist und die auditiven und visuellen Assoziationen der Betrachter. Visuelle Partituren, auf der Basis gespeicherter Musik, zeichnen freie Rhythmen aus der nahtlosen oder offenen konstruktiven Addition der glänzenden schwarzen Musikbänder. Wir sehen den abstrakten Beat im Werk und hören gleichzeitig in unserer Vorstellung die Musik, deren Titel der Künstler in den Bildbezeichnungen mitführt. In einer aktuellen Werkgruppe 2017 bis 2019 hat Gregor Hildebrandt einige seiner Bildobjekte großen Vorbildern des 20. Jahrhunderts im Kontext von Sound, Bild und Rhythmus gewidmet: Piet Mondrian, Anni und Josef Albers, François Morellet u. a. Die schwarzen rechtwinkligen Linien der Bilder Mondrians ersetzt Hildebrandt durch Tape, im Bild der Daimler Art Collection eine Aufzeichnung des Songs Non perderti per niente al mondo von Paolo Conte aus dem Jahr 1981. Vom Boogie Woogie der 1940er-Jahre lenkt Hildebrandt so die Imagination des Betrachters in Richtung auf die italienische Schlagerwelt der 1980er-Jahre. Zugleich eröffnet die Aufforderung des Titels, übersetzt »Verpassen Sie nichts in der Welt« weitere Dimensionen. »Ich gebe Mondrian eine Stimme, weil alle seine Bilder mit etwas aufgenommen sind, auch wenn es nur Leere ist«, so der Kommentar des Künstlers.

 

schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".