Dieter Blum
Mercedes-Benz E 300, 1989

Dieter Blum began working as a photographer and photojournalist in the early 1960s. His artistically choreographed photos were published in prominent magazines such as “Vanity Fair”, “Time Magazin”, and “Der Spiegel”. Not least through his many years of work on the internationally known Marlboro advertising campaign, Blum became one of the most significant photographers of his generation – especially in the interface between product advertising and documentary photography.
The magazine “stern” commissioned him to create a number of photo shoots. In May 1989, he created – jointly with Peter Sandmeyer – an article totalling several pages on the mystique of the “Mercedes-Benz” brand. Dieter Blum was responsible for the pictures, which were equal to the textual element and appeared to tell their own story, in a separate reality. Blum’s contributions are characterised by their individual choice of motif, which gives the reader an extraordinary insight into the production world of Daimler-Benz AG as it existed at the time: the sequence of a crash test, the assembly lines photographed in severe central perspective, and the unconventional transport of a state car. Not just Blum himself but the Sindelfingen site workers involved must have had to work very intensively on this series. For the unique large-format photograph acquired by the Daimler Art Collection, they completely dismantled a Mercedes-Benz E 300 (W 124) red limousine and painstakingly arranged the 610 individual pieces. For this photo, Blum used a spectacular vertical downward perspective, a perspective that was made a Blum trademark by his “Russia” volume of photographs (1980) and his American Airlines campaign, if not before

Dieter Blum

* 1936 Esslingen, D
Lives and works inDüsseldorf, D
more

Related artworks



Car Related 53 Artworks

César
Compression, 1991
Mercedes-Benz 190 (metal, rubber, glass, leather, paint)
Andy Warhol
Mercedes-Benz Formel-I-Rennwagen W 196 R Stromlinie (1954), 1986
Silkscreen, acrylic on canvas
Andy Warhol
Benz Coupé Mylord (1901), 1986
Silkscreen, acrylic on canvas

Photography 89 Artworks

Guy Tillim
Kamajoor-Milizen, 2001
Pigment print on 300 g cotton paper, Ed. 1/5 + 1 AP
close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Dieter Blum
Mercedes-Benz E 300, 1989

Dieter Blum arbeitet seit den frühen 1960er Jahren als Fotograf und Bildjournalist. Seine künstlerisch inszenierten Fotos wurde von namenhafte Magazine, wie „Vanity Fair“, „Time Magazin“ oder „Der Spiegel“ publiziert. Nicht zuletzt durch sein langjähriges Mitwirken an der international bekannten Werbekampagne von Marlboro wurde Blum – insbesondere an der Schnittstelle von Produktwerbung und Dokumentarfotografie – zu einer der prägenden Fotografen seiner Generation.
Die Zeitschrift „stern“ hat ihn mit zahlreichen Bildstrecken beauftragt. Im Mai 1989 entstand – in Zusammenarbeit mit Peter Sandmeyer –ein mehrseitiger Artikel, der sich dem Mythos der Marke „Mercedes-Benz“ widmete. Dieter Blum zeichnete hier für die Fotostrecke verantwortlich, die gleichwertig zum Textbeitrag eine eigene Geschichte zu erzählen, eine aparte Realität zu zeigen scheint. Blums Beiträge kennzeichnet ihre individuelle Motivwahl, die dem Leser einen ausgefallenen Einblick in die Produktionswelt der damaligen Daimler-Benz AG erlauben: die Sequenz eines Crashtests, die streng zentralperspektivisch fotografierten Fertigungslinien oder den unkonventionellen Transport einer Staatskarosse. Nicht nur Blum selbst, sondern auch die eingebundenen Arbeiter am Standort Sindelfingen müssen intensiv an dieser Serie gearbeitet haben. Für das von der Daimler Art Collection erworbene großformatige Unikatfoto haben sie eine rote Limousine des Mercedes-Benz E 300 (W 124) vollständig demontiert und die 610 Einzelteile sorgfältig arrangiert. Blum wählte für sein Foto den spektakulären Blickwinkel von oben senkrecht nach unten, eine Perspektive, die spätestens seit seinem Fotoband „Russia“ (1980) oder der Kampagnen für American Airlines zum Blumschen Trademark wurde.

Dieter Blum

* 1936 Esslingen, D
Lebt und arbeitet inDüsseldorf, D
mehr
Dieter Blum
Low Clearance [Geringe Durchfahrtshöhe] (1), 1992
Pigmentdruck
Dieter Blum
American Flag [amerikanische Flagge], 1992
Pigmentdruck
Dieter Blum
Wintertime [Winterzeit] (1), 1992
Pigmentdruck

Verwandte Werke



Car Related 53 Werke

Andy Warhol
Karl Benz mit seinem kaufmännischen Angestellten Josef Brecht auf dem Benz Patent-Motorwagen (1886), 1986
Siebdruck, Acryl auf Leinwand
Andy Warhol
Benz Patent-Motorwagen (1886), 1986
Siebdruck, Acryl auf Leinwand
Sylvie Fleury
Untitled (Car Magazine Covers), 1999
Fotografie auf Aluminium

Fotografie 92 Werke

Michael Zahn
Alias (Solid Grey Medium), 2005
Digitaldruck und Acryl auf Papier, Collage
Pamela Singh
Jaipur Self-Portrait No. 1, 2003
Mixed Media auf Schwarzweißphotographie, Unikat
Chen Chieh-Jen
Friend Watan-5, 2013
Giclée-Print auf Canson Infinity Baryta Photographique Papier, Ed. 5 + 1/2 AP
schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".