Artwork

Clément Cogitore
Zodiac, 2017

  • C-Print, Glas Diasec
  • 113,5 x 150 cm
  • Acquired in 2018
The photograph is characterized by the view of a broad man’s back, which is supposedly subjected to the act of tattooing. On the dramatically illuminated back against a dark background unfolds a cosmos of symbols: a sign system of zodiacal astrology. The skin-carved motif that represents the northern hemisphere goes back to the first astrological woodcut in Europe. It comes from the hand of Albrecht Dürer (14711528) and was created in 1515. As Dürer’s direct source functioned two ornate star charts, which were made in Nuremberg in 1503. His own additions to the design, however, include the portraits of early astronomers in each corner:  Aratus Cilix, Ptolemy, Marcus Manilius, and Azophi Arabus (Al-Sufi). Aby Warburg, an art historian and pioneer in the field of visual culture, included Dürer’s print in his important pictorial atlas, ‘Mnemosyne, A Picture Series Examining the Function of Preconditioned Antiquity-Related Expressive Values for the Presentation of Eventful Life in the Art of the European Renaissance,’ which due to Warburg’s death remained unfinished in 1929 with just 63 images. The identity of the person whose skin allows us to look at this astrological map remains unknown. Cogitore stages the canonical image of the sky as in a contemporary approach, as against the backdrop of historical references, in a field of tension between physicality and Imagination.

Clément Cogitore

* 1983 Colmar, France
more
Clément Cogitore
Digital Desert #2, 2015
C-Print, Glas Diasec, Signed and numbered 2/5 on a label on the reverse

Related artworks



Photography 107 Artworks

Santiago Sierra
111 Konstruktionen mit 10 Elementen und 10 Arbeitern (Nr. 77, #80/04), 2004
b-w photographies, framed, Ed. 1/2 + 1 AP
Mustafah Abdulaziz
A diorama of the Nanjing Yangtze River Bridge sits beneath the real bridge. Nanjing, China, 2015
Je Inkjet-Print on Ilford smooth cotton rag 310g range Papier
close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Werk

Clément Cogitore
Zodiac, 2017

  • C-Print, Glas Diasec
  • 113,5 x 150 cm
  • Erworben 2018

Die Fotografie ist bestimmt von der Ansicht eines breiten Männerrückens, der gerade vermeintlich dem Akt des Tätowierens unterzogen wird. Auf dem dramatisch beleuchteten Rücken vor dunklem Hintergrund entfaltet sich ein Kosmos von Symbolen: ein Zeichensystem zodiakischer Astrologie. Das in die Haut gestochene Motiv, das die nördliche Hemisphäre repräsentiert, geht auf den ersten astrologischen Holzschnitt Europas zurück. Er stammt aus der Hand von Albrecht Dürer (14711528) und entstand im Jahr 1515. Als Dürers direkte Quelle gelten zwei reich verzierte Sternenkarten, die 1503 in Nürnberg angefertigt wurden. Seine eigenen Hinzufügungen zu diesem Entwurf umfassen hingegen die Porträts früher Astronomen in jeder Ecke: Aratus Cilix, Ptolemäus, Marcus Manilius und Azophi Arabus (Al-Sufi). Ein Kunsthistoriker und Vorreiter der Bildwissenschaft, Aby Warburg, nahm den Druck Dürers in seinen bedeutenden Bilderatlas ›Mnemosyne, Bilderreihe zur Untersuchung der Funktion vorgeprägter antiker Ausdruckswerte bei der Darstellung bewegten Lebens in der Kunst der europäischen Renaissance‹ auf, der 1929 mit 63 Bildern durch den Tod Warburgs unvollendet blieb. Die Identität der Person, deren Haut uns den Blick auf diese astrologische Karte gewährt, bleibt unbekannt. Cogitore inszeniert das kanonische Himmelsbild gleichsam zeitgenössisch, wie vor dem Hintergrund historischer Referenzen in einem Spannungsfeld von Körperlichkeit und Imagination.

Clément Cogitore

* 1983 Colmar, Frankreich
mehr

Verwandte Werke



Fotografie 102 Werke

Pieter Hugo
Untitled, Agbogbloshie Market, Accra, Ghana, 2010
C-Print
Guy Tillim
Petros Village, Malawi, Woman cooking, 2006
Pigmentdruck auf Baumwollpapier, Aufl. 2/5
schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".