Artwork

Fang Lu
Cinema, 2013

  • 7-channel video installation, sound 5.1, Ed. 3/5
  • 19:19 min
  • Acquired in 2014

The works by Fang Lu are among those positions in art that operate by questioning and expanding production, reception, communication and interaction in a field of its own that borders on theatre, performance and video art. The artwork Cinema, also, has as its theme the transcending of genre boundaries. In spite of the title, it presents us with a theatre space rather than a conventional cinema space. Four cameras are trained on the actions of a female protagonist, who also takes on the roles of producer and recipient. It is not only the production that is governed by changes of perspective: the views from the differently positioned cameras are presented in three large-scale projections and on four televisions. We have no way of knowing whether the actions of the performer during this process of interactive image generation are improvised or staged, or to what extent the movements of her body and her adjustments to the console are influenced by concerns as to how her image appears and the internalizing of the gaze of others. As a digital panopticon with multiple visual relationships, what the complex observation scenario of Cinema really shows us is an ambivalent freedom that oscillates between self-empowerment and self‑regulation. Cinema makes it all too clear that new image technologies do not just process effects and affects – they can also constitute a monitoring regime of the gaze.

Related artworks



China 36 Artworks

Ding Yi
Geometric Grid, 2011
Artist book, color pencil and ink on rice paper
Wu Hao
Watermarks Project: Wuhan, 2014
Mixed media installation, glass and porcelain vessels with dried paint

Installation 63 Artworks

Iman Issa
Prayer (Study for 2014), 2014
Metal sculpture with LED light, text panel under glass

Video 48 Artworks

Peter Roehr
Filmmontagen I + II + III, 1965
16mm-Film on video, on DVD, unlim. Ed. Nr. 44
close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Werk

Fang Lu
Cinema, 2013

  • 7-Kanal Videoinstallation, Ton 5.1, Ed. 3/5
  • 19:19 min
  • Erworben 2014

Das Werk von Fang Lu zählt zu jenen künstlerischen Positionen, die an einer Befragung und Erweiterung der Kategorien von Produktion und Rezeption, Kommunikation und Interaktion im Grenzbereich zwischen Theater, Performance und Videokunst arbeiten. Auch Cinema thematisiert die Überschreitung von Gattungsgrenzen. Trotz des Titels wird kein konventioneller Kinoraum, sondern ein Theaterraum gezeigt. Vier Kameras richten sich auf die Aktionen einer weiblichen Protagonistin, die gleichzeitig die Rollen von Produzentin und Rezipientin übernimmt. Perspektivwechsel bestimmen nicht nur die Produktion: Die Aufnahmen der unterschiedlichen Kamerapositionen werden im Ausstellungsraum auf drei Großprojektionen und vier Fernseher präsentiert. Während des interaktiven Prozesses der Bildergenerierung können wir nicht wissen, ob die Aktionen der Performerin improvisiert oder inszeniert sind, und inwieweit die Bewegungen ihres Körpers und der Konsole sich fokussieren auf  das eigene Bild und die Internalisierung fremder Blicke. Als digitales Panoptikum mit multiplen Sichtbarkeitsver-hältnissen zeigt das komplexe Beobachtungsszenario in Cinema vielmehr eine ambivalente Freiheit, die zwischen Selbstermächtigung und Selbstregulation changiert. Dass neue Bildtechnologien nicht nur Effekte und Affekte prozessieren, sondern auch ein Blickregime der Überwachung darstellen können, wird in Cinema nur allzu deutlich.

Verwandte Werke



China 38 Werke

Zhao Zhao
Cobblestone, 2007
2 C-Prints, Ed. 3/6 + 1 AP
Zhang Peili
Brown book No. 1, 1988
Fotografie, Tinte auf Papier, Gummi-Chirurgenhandschuh mit Verpackung, Ed. 5/5
Cao Fei
La Town [Die Stadt], 2014
Ein-Kanal-Video,16:9, Farbe/Ton

Installation 59 Werke

Lee Kit
‘You (you).’, Set 7, 2013
Acryl-, Dispersionsfarbe und Bleistift auf Holz, Readymade Objekte
Albert Weis
flexion, 2010
Gekantete Aluminiumprofile, Lack

Video 39 Werke

Cao Fei
La Town [Die Stadt], 2014
Ein-Kanal-Video,16:9, Farbe/Ton
Guan Xiao
Action, 2014
3-Kanal HD Videoinstallation
schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".