Artwork

Nigel Hall
Big River, 1998

  • Corten steel
  • 540 x 804 x 408 cm
  • Acquired in 2000
  • Mercedesstraße 120, 70372 Stuttgart, Deutschland

The sculptor Nigel Hall was born in Bristol, England in 1943. He is one of the generation of British sculptors who were successors to Henry Moore and Anthony Caro, and coined the concept of “New Sculpture” or “British Sculpture” in the mid-seventies or early eighties. This was by no means a homogeneous group. Within it, Richard Long, Hamish Fulton, David Nash or Nigel Hall redefined the theme of landscape in three-dimensional formulations that were unmistakably their own. In Nigel Hall’s case, landscape impressions and the experience of landscape are just stimuli for the creative implementation of a three-dimensional notion of space.

The monumental steel sculpture Big River, dating from 1998, was inspired by a river landscape in Seoul. The sculptor was invited there in 1988 on the occasion of the Olympic Games, to work on setting up the big sculpture park on the Olympic site. Light and shade, movements and stillness, vitality and repose, floating and weighing down, leaning and supporting are all part of the thematic repertoire that leads to this infinitely diverse and complex three-dimensional structure. Compact volume is replaced by a definition of space using sensitively handled lines and geometrical formations. The vertical rods in Big River are upright as the viewers see them, and offer an orientation point.In this way Hall successfully combines dynamics and repose, vitality and stillness, and creates a balance between forces running counter to each other.

Related artworks



Abstraction 50 Artworks

Willi Baumeister
Ruhe und Bewegung II (auf Blau), 1948
Oil with artificial resin on hardboard

Sculpture 79 Artworks

Natalia Stachon
Drift 03, 2012
Acrylic glass, cord, tension straps, hooks, Ed. 1/1 + AP
Wu Hao
Rolling Gate No. 6, 2014
Metal rolling gate, paint
close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Nigel Hall
Big River, 1998

Der 1943 in Bristol, England, geborene Bildhauer Nigel Hall gehört zu der englischen Bildhauergeneration, die in der Nachfolge von Henry Moore und Anthony Caro Mitte der siebziger, Anfang der achtziger Jahre den Begriff der »New Sculpture« beziehungsweise der »British Sculpture« geprägt haben. Unter dieser keineswegs homogenen Gruppe haben Richard Long, Hamish Fulton, David Nash oder Nigel Hall das Thema Landschaft in unverkennbar eigenen plastischen Formulierungen neu definiert. Landschaftseindrücke und landschaftliches Erleben sind bei Nigel Hall nur Stimulans zur bildnerischen Umsetzung einer plastischen Raumvorstellung.

Die monumentale Stahlskulptur Big River von 1998 ist von einer Flusslandschaft in Seoul inspiriert. Dorthin wurde der Künstler anlässlich der Olympischen Spiele 1988 im Rahmen der Errichtung des großen Skulpturenparks auf dem olympischen Gelände eingeladen. Licht und Schatten, Bewegung und Stillstand, Vitalität und Ruhe, Schweben und Lasten, Anlehnen und Stützen gehören zum thematischen Repertoire, aus dem das unendlich vielfältige und vielschichtige dreidimensionale Gefüge entsteht. Anstelle des kompakten Volumens tritt eine Definition des Raumes durch sensible Lineamente und geometrische Formationen. Die vertikalen Stäbe in Big River haben, analog zum Betrachter, eine aufrechte Position und bieten ihm Orientierung. Auf diese Weise gelingt es Hall, Dynamik und Ruhe, Vitalität und Stille ideal miteinander zu verbinden, eine Balance zwischen gegenläufigen Kräften herzustellen.

Verwandte Werke



Abstraktion 49 Werke

Arakawa + Gins
Morning Picture - Portrait of a Civilisation, 1969
Öl auf Leinwand

Skulptur 71 Werke

George Rickey
Two Lines excentric jointed with six angles, 1987
Rostfreier Stahl
Max Bill
doppelfläche mit sechs rechtwinkligen ecken, 1948
Granit
schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".