Andy Warhol. CARS

A Co-operation of the Museum Art & Cars, Singen with the Daimler Art Collection, Stuttgart/Berlin and Mercedes-Benz Classic, Stuttgart

October 26th 2014 — September 20th 2015

MAC – Museum Art & Cars, Singen
Parkstraße 1
D – 78224 Singen

With his 1986/87 Cars series Andy Warhol holds an outstanding position in the Daimler Art Collection. This was his last series of pictures, commissioned by the company on the occasion of the hundredth anniversary of the motor car, but  ever completed. 80 pictures were planned, intended to record the history of the motor car from the Daimler Motor Coach and the Benz Patent Motor Car dating from 1886 to the present day, using 20 selected Mercedes types. Only 35 pictures and 2 largeformat drawings representing eight different models were finished. As the artist put the brand Mercedes-Benz in the context of art, in the context of the “Warhol aura” he managed to bring together two high-class products. The name Warhol has a “mythic” attraction within the context of arts, as the attendances of his exhibitions are showing; just as the brand Mercedes-Benz in its context, which has—symbolized by the star—a constant field of connotations in the consumer  society of the 20th century: beautiful, fast, modern, high-quality. In the Museum Art & Cars Singen works from the Warhol Cars series will for the first time be exhibited in dialogue with historic Mercedes-Benz vehicles.

 

 

Downloads

Artists

Publications

  • Cars

    Cars

    Andy Warhol, Sylvie Fleury, Robert Longo, Vincent Szarek from the Daimler Art Collection

    Renate Wiehager for the Daimler Art Collection , Hatje Cantz Ostfildern, 2010
  • Andy Warhol

    Andy Warhol

    Cars. Die letzten Bilder 1986/87

    Daimler-Benz AG, Dr. Cantz’sche Druckerei Ostfildern, 1996
    out of stock

Exhibitions

    Mercedes-Benz Museum

    Art & Stars & Cars

    On the Occasion of the Automobile's 125th Anniversary
    May 10th — September 25th 2011
    Details
close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

Andy Warhol. CARS

Eine Kooperation des MAC, Singen mit der Daimler Art Collection, Stuttgart/Berlin und Mercedes-Benz Classic, Stuttgart

26. Oktober 2014 — 20. September 2015

MAC – Museum Art & Cars, Singen

Parkstraße 1

D – 78224 Singen

Mit seiner Serie Cars von 1986/87 ist Andy Warhol prominent in der Daimler Art Collection vertreten. Als seine letzte Bildfolge blieb diese Arbeit, die der Konzern anlässlich des hundertjährigen Geburtstags des Automobils in Auftrag gegeben hatte, unvollendet. Von den 80 geplanten Bildern, die anhand 20 ausgewählter Mercedes-Typen die Geschichte des Automobils von der Daimler-Motorkutsche und dem Benz Patent-Motorwagen aus dem Jahre 1886 bis in die jüngste Gegenwart dokumentieren sollten, gelangten 35 Bilder und 12 großformatige Zeichnungen mit der Darstellung acht verschiedener Modelle zur Ausführung. Indem Warhol die Marke Mercedes-Benz in den Kontext der Kunst, in den Kontext der ›Warhol-Aura‹ stellte, gelang die Begegnung zweier Spitzenprodukte. Der Name Warhol hat, wie die Besucherzahlen seiner Ausstellungen zeigen, im Kontext Kunst eine ›mythische‹ Attraktion; so auch der Markenname Mercedes- Benz in seinem Kontext, der – materialisiert im Symbol des Sterns – in der waren-produzierenden Gesellschaft des 20. Jahrhunderts ein gesichertes Feld von Konnotationen hat: schön, schnell, modern, qualitätvoll. Im Museum Art & Cars Singen werden erstmals die Werke der Warhol Cars Serie mit den historischen Mercedes-Benz Automobilen gemeinsam ausgestellt.

Downloads

Künstler

Publikationen

  • Cars

    Cars

    Andy Warhol, Sylvie Fleury, Robert Longo, Vincent Szarek aus der Daimler Art Collection

    Renate Wiehager für die Daimler Art Collection, Hatje Cantz Ostfildern, 2010
  • Andy Warhol

    Andy Warhol

    Cars. Die letzten Bilder 1986/87

    Daimler-Benz AG, Dr. Cantz’sche Druckerei Ostfildern, 1996
    nicht Lieferbar

Ausstellungen

schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".