31: Women. (Exhibition Concept after Marcel Duchamp, 1943).

Works from the Daimler Art Collection 1930–2020.

February 29th 2020 — February 7th 2021
Exhibition opening: February 29, 2020, 3 - 6 p.m.
Daimler Contemporary Berlin
Duchamp as Curator

In 1942, legendary collector and gallery owner Peggy Guggenheim opened her Art of this Century gallery in New York. As early as 1943, curated by Marcel Duchamp and advising artists of the time, she presented an exhibition that focused exclusively on female avant-garde artists: ›Exhibition by 31 Women‹ (January 5 – 31, 1943). With regard to the number of participants and artistic diversity, this exhibition was a novelty in the history of art. The show brought female representatives of surrealism together with abstract painters, Dadaist influenced artists and unknown, younger artists of the time.

With reference to this important founding event of a feminist art history, the exhibition ›31: Women‹ shows women artists from the Daimler Art Collection. Historically, our exhibition begins in the 1930s with abstract paintings by the Hungarian artist Anne Beöthy Steiner. From here, the horizon expands from European and American trends from Zero and Minimalism to contemporary German and international positions in the media of image, photography, installation, sculpture, drawing and video.

Two new publications accompany the exhibition.

Curator: Renate Wiehager

Marcel Duchamp: The curatorial work (Renate Wiehager)

They are legendary in speech and image: Marcel Duchamp’s disguises and countless photographic self-stagings, his ironic, sarcastic, humorous comments on art, the art industry, art criticism and art history. Less well known is a Marcel Duchamp who, with great empathy and strategic awareness, embraced the cause of the artists in his contemporary cultural environment: as curator of exhibitions from the early 1910s to his death in 1968, as juror and as consultant for some of the most important collections, museums and galleries of modern art. The volume outlines nearly forty exhibitions, supplemented by recent research results, and illustrates Duchamp’s close cooperation with protagonists of his time: Louise and Walter Conrad Arensberg, Katherine S. Dreier, Francis Picabia, Sidney and Harriet Janis as well as André Breton, Julien Levy, or Peggy Guggenheim.

Marcel Duchamp. The Women. Les Femmes. Die Frauen. Las Mucheres

(Renate Wiehager und Katharina Neuburger)

The publication Duchamp and the Women offers an unusual perspective on the ›artist of the Century‹ Marcel Duchamp. Consisting of essays and biographical portraits of more than a hundred female leading figures reaching from early 20th century Modernism to the 1960s, who shaped the life and work of Marcel Duchamp, the publication traces the initiatives and collaborations which accompanied and inspired Duchamp’s artistic practice. Furthermore, important texts by women are made accessible and are translated into English or German, which previously could be found available in rare sources or published in French only. The book unfoulds the social and cultural work of female collectors, gallery owners, artist colleagues and authors, revealing the featured women’s formative influence for their time in Europe and the United States.

Essays on e.g.: Louise Arensberg / Djuna Barnes / Katherine S. Dreier / Suzanne Duchamp / Peggy Guggenheim / Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven / Mina Loy / Maria Martin / Louise Norton / Gabrielle Buffet-Picabia / Mary Reynolds / Carrie, Ettie and Florine Stettheimer / Beatrice Wood.

The publications will be publiched in February 2020 and can be acquired at the Exhibition space Daimler Contemporary at a Special Price.

Artists

Publications

Exhibitions

    Daimler Contemporary Berlin

    Duchamp as Curator

    Marcel Duchamp’s Curatorial Practice: His Work, Contemporary Exhibitions, Museums, Private Collections and Publications
    Symposium at Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    April 25th — 26th 2017
    Details
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin

    Minimalism and Applied II

    Dialogues of Contemporary Art with Aspects of 20th Century Design and Architecture
    October 29th 2010 — March 27th 2011
    Details
close

Shopping cart

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
checkout*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".

31: Women. (Exhibition Concept after Marcel Duchamp, 1943).

Werke der Daimler Art Collection 1930–2020.

29. Februar 2020 — 7. Februar 2021
Eröffnung: 29. Februar 2020, 15.00 -18.00
Daimler Contemporary Berlin

1942 eröffnete die legendäre Sammlerin und Galeristin Peggy Guggenheim in New York ihre Galerie Art of this Century. Bereits 1943 zeigte sie, kuratiert von Marcel Duchamp und beraten von Künstlern der Zeit, eine Ausstellung, die sich ausschließlich auf weibliche Vertreterinnen der Avantgarde fokussierte: ›Exhibition by 31 Women‹ (5. – 31. Januar 1943). Hinsichtlich der Zahl der Teilnehmenden und der künstlerischen Vielfalt war diese Ausstellung ein kunsthistorisches Novum. Die Schau brachte weibliche Vertreterinnen des Surrealismus mit abstrakten Malerinnen, mit dadaistisch beeinflussten Künstlerinnen sowie mit unbekannten, jüngeren Künstlerinnen der Zeit zusammen.

Mit Rückbezug auf dieses wichtige Gründungsdokument einer feministischen Kunstgeschichte zeigt die Ausstellung 31: Women‹ Künstlerinnen der Daimler Art Collection. Historisch setzt unsere Ausstellung an in der Zeit um 1930 mit abstrakten Bildern der ungarischen Künstlerin Anne Beöthy Steiner. Von hier aus weitet sich der Horizont von europäischen und amerikanischen Tendenzen aus Zero und Minimalismus bis hin zu zeitgenössischen deutschen und internationalen Positionen in den Medien Bild, Fotografie, Installation, Skulptur, Zeichnung und Video.

Kuratorin: Renate Wiehager

Zwei eigenständige neue Publikationen begleiten die Ausstellung:

Marcel Duchamp. Das kuratorische Werk. (Renate Wiehager)

Sie sind Legende in Wort und Bild: Marcel Duchamps Verkleidungen und zahllosen fotografischen Selbstinszenierungen, seine ironischen, sarkastischen, humorvollen Kommentare zu Kunst, Kunstbetrieb, Kunstkritik und Kunstgeschichte. Weniger bekannt ist jener Marcel Duchamp, der sich empathisch und strategisch alert für die Künstlerinnen und Künstler seines zeitgenössischen kulturellen Umfeldes eingesetzt hat: als Kurator von Ausstellungen zwischen den 1910er-Jahren und seinem Tod 1968, als Juror und Berater einiger der bedeutendsten Sammlungen, Museen und Galerien zur Kunst der Moderne. Der Band skizziert rund vierzig Ausstellungen, ergänzt um jüngste Forschungsergebnisse, und stellt die enge Kooperation mit wichtigen Protagonisten der Zeit vor: von Louise und Walter Conrad Arensberg, Katherine S. Dreier, Francis Picabia, Sidney und Harriet Janis bis zu André Breton, Julien Levy oder Peggy Guggenheim.

Duchamp. The Women. Les Femmes. Die Frauen. Las Mucheres (Renate Wiehager und Katharina Neuburger)

Die neue Publikation eröffnet eine ungewöhnliche Perspektive auf den ›Jahrhundertkünstler‹ Marcel Duchamp. Anhand kunstwissenschaftlicher Essays und biografischer Porträts zu mehr als einhundert Protagonistinnen von der frühen Moderne bis in die 1960er-Jahre, die Leben und Werk von Duchamp geprägt haben, werden wesentliche Initiativen und Kooperationen diskutiert, die seine künstlerischen Projekte begleitet und angeregt haben. Ergänzend werden Texte von Frauen zugänglich gemacht und ins Deutsche übersetzt, die bisher nur an entlegener Stelle auffindbar bzw. lediglich in französischer oder englischer Sprache verfügbar waren. Der Band zeichnet das gesellschaftliche und kulturelle Wirken der Frauen nach, die als Sammlerinnen, Galeristinnen, Künstlerkolleginnen und Autorinnen ihre Zeit in Europa und den USA mitgeprägt haben

Essays zu u.a.: Louise Arensberg / Djuna Barnes / Katherine S. Dreier / Suzanne Duchamp / Peggy Guggenheim / Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven / Mina Loy / Maria Martin / Louise Norton / Gabrielle Buffet-Picabia / Mary Reynolds / Carrie, Ettie und Florine Stettheimer / Beatrice Wood.

Die Publikationen erscheinen Ende Februar 2020 und können im Daimler Contemporary zu vergünstigtem Preis erworben werden.

KünstlerInnen

Ausstellungen

    Daimler Contemporary Berlin

    Duchamp als Kurator

    Marcel Duchamps kuratorische Praxis: sein Werk, zeitgenössische Ausstellungen, Museen, private Sammlungen und Publikationen
    Symposium im Daimler Contemporary Berlin
    25. — 26. April 2017
    Details
    Museu de Arte de São Paulo Assis Chateaubriand – MASP

    from bauhaus to (now!)

    Die Daimler Art Collection in Brasilien, 2007
    16. August — 9. Dezember 2007
    Details
    Daimler Contemporary Berlin

    Minimalism and Applied II

    Dialoge zeitgenössischer Künstler/innen mit Aspekten aus Design und Architektur des 20. Jahrhunderts
    29. Oktober 2010 — 27. März 2011
    Details
schließen

Warenkorb

Versand und Abwicklung erfolgt über die Bücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. Für Fragen zu Bestellungen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an info@buecherbogen.com Handling and Shipping is done by theBücherbogen am Savignyplatz GmbH in Berlin. For questions regarding your order please contact info@buecherbogen.com directly.
bezahlen*
* Bestellungen aus der EU sind bei PayPal auch ohne Anmeldung möglich. Sie können dann auch bequem per Bankeinzug oder mit Ihrer Kreditkarte zahlen. Für diese Option klicken Sie bitte auf PayPal und wählen anschließend die Bezahlung "Mit Lastschrift oder Kreditkarte" aus. Buyers from within the EU can use PayPal even without having a PayPal account. Via Paypal you can also check out with direct debit or with your credit card. For this option please click on "Check out with PayPal" and make use of the "Payment by Direct Debit or Credit Card".